13 series and authors I read as a pre-teen

13 Mar

blubutter.gif

I’ve been reading since I was 4. I began reading my mom’s romance novels at 10. By the time I was a pre-teen I was ravenous for literature, almost anything. During that time, I read 13 of the following:

  1. Nancy Drew Files by Carolyn Keene (It was my goal in life to have all of them at one point.)
  2. White Squaw by E.J. Hunter (I only read a few of these.)
  3. White Indian by Donald C. Porter (See a theme starting here?)
  4. Wagons West by Dana F. Ross (Read all of them at one time.)
  5. Everything written by Victoria Holt
  6. The Hardy Boys by Franklin Dixon
  7. Little House on the Prairie
  8. Apache by William James
  9. The books were the teens are dying or their parents have died.
  10. Chose your own Adventure
  11. Stagecoach by Hank Mitchum
  12. The Gunsmith by J.R. Roberts
  13. S.E. Hinton’s books: especially the Outsiders
16 Responses to “13 series and authors I read as a pre-teen”

  1. Rosie March 13, 2008 at 12:31 am #

    Precocious little bugger weren’t you?

  2. scooper March 13, 2008 at 12:52 am #

    Rosie- If it could be read and was fiction, I read it. The librarian quit trying to direct me at an early age.

  3. damozel March 13, 2008 at 1:42 am #

    I read the Little House books—the whole series—and all the Nancy Drews I could get my hands on, but I don’t know the others. Loved those, though.

    Mine:
    13 Hearts

  4. HolleeAnn March 13, 2008 at 2:56 am #

    oh yes i remember many of these…i need to direct my 12 yr old to a few of these authors.

    GREAT T13…mine is up come have a look-see!

  5. Ronnica March 13, 2008 at 8:41 am #

    I read a lot of Nancy Drew and Little House, too. Oh, and I read the books about the teenagers dying by Lurlene McDaniels (I think that’s her name). Why in the world did I like them?

    My T13: 13 Old Lessons I’m Still Learning

  6. Lori March 13, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    I read a few of those myself. Great list and Happy TT.

  7. beeker March 13, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    I started reading romances at about the same age! I love Nancy Drew. I loved reading and putting them in order on my bookshelf. I still love to read.

  8. Susan Helene Gottfried March 13, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    OMG, I thought for sure we’d have more in common, but we only have Little House. And I read a few of those books where people die and blah blah — but never really liked them. Too much melodrama and situations I couldn’t relate to.

  9. Nicholas March 13, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    I never read any of those. Different country, different sex.

  10. Malcolm March 13, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Although I haven’t read any of those, I did see the film version of “The Outsiders”. I also really enjoy the Nancy Drew movies from the late 1930s. They show them on TCM from time to time.

    When you mentioned books about teens dying, it made me think of Lurlene McDaniel. I remember from my days working in bookstores that her novels were fairly popular.

  11. pussreboots March 13, 2008 at 10:32 pm #

    I didn’t start reading as you as you but by the time I was in my teens I was reading many of the books you’ve listed on your TT. Happy TT.

  12. fullbodytransplant March 14, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    Mine was the Black Stallion! Ah, memories.

  13. FantasyGirl March 17, 2008 at 4:06 am #

    Ditto for the Nancy Drew series. I really wanted to collect the whole series and actually came close but then grew out of them. I felt almost as passionate about the Hardy Boys and Laura Ingalls books.

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane!

  14. T.C. Robson March 19, 2008 at 1:31 am #

    Oy…you’ve been reading a lot longer than I have. The last book (or series of books) that I remember reading in my kid/pre-teen days was Hank the Cowdog. They always had me do these reading tests after I read them, and because they were longer books (in those days, at least), I always failed the tests. But I did enjoy that cowdog.

  15. suzanne October 1, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    I am strolling down memory lane via your website. I grew up in the sticks, a million miles away from anything, and poor, so the only way I could escape was through my school library treasures. I remeber a series of books I read @ age 9 or 10 about sisters (one plain/bookworm, one pretty) who’s mother was ill in one of the books, and they were sent away to summer camp, where the plain one learned to come out of her shell as they put on a “talent show” and she was forced to perform as Hans Christian Andersens “the NightingGale” Does this ring a bell to you??? I enjoy your website, maybe I will finish my own novel one day and you will write about it for me!!!

  16. scooper October 3, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Thanks for visiting Suzanne. Sometimes the random things from my past bring a smile to my face. How about you? Sadly I have to admit that I don’t remember the book. I tried to Google it with the information in your post, but couldn’t find anything. When you remember or find someone who knows make sure you pop by and let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

