13 lines from Babylon Babies by Maurice G. Dantec

20 Mar

ttladywriting.jpg

I haven’t read the book yet, but I’m going to post the first sentence from the first 13 chapters of Babylon Babies.

  • So living was an incredible experience, where the most beautiful day of your entire existence could be your last, where sleeping with death guaranteed seeing the next morning, and where a few golden rules were constant.
  • Night was the best time to kill.
  •  It was fucking hot.
  • The Wallabies were roughing up the Springboks on her screen, and Marie Zorn didn’t give a fuck.
  • Things had gotten worse on the other side of the Tekes River.
  • Romanenko’s eyes stayed fixed on Toorop whose eyes were fixed on him in return.
  • Marie Zorn watched the storm break over the city nestled beneath the window in the metal-framed rocking chair.
  • Marie got up because some strange lights were igniting the sky.
  • The event was configured in the entity called Joe-Jane’s memory in the shape of a brutal variation of internal flows.
  • The moon was red about Mont-Royal.
  • Rebecca went into the bathroom and got into the tub.
  • Romanenko didn’t stop staring at the screen.
  • “Quite frankly, Mister Gorsky, there’s no cause for alarm.”
8 Responses to “13 lines from Babylon Babies by Maurice G. Dantec”

  1. she March 20, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    i’ve never heard of this book.

  2. Susan Helene Gottfried March 20, 2008 at 1:47 pm #

    Those are some varied first sentences. Be sure to tell us what you think of the book as a whole!

  3. beeker March 20, 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    I had not heard of the book, so I looked it up and I love the premise of the book. My library has it in stock, so I am going to pick it up on my next visit. Let us know if you liked the book!

  4. scooper March 20, 2008 at 9:24 pm #

    she- I heard there was going to be a movie based on it and I looked it up.
    Susan- I know. It makes me want to look at all my books like that and see what I think of them.
    Beeker- Cool, you too. I haven’t had my normal reading time lately, but I’m hoping to read it before the end of the month.

  5. chapheng March 21, 2008 at 2:22 am #

    Interesting first lines. I might have to look up the book to see what goes in between!

  6. Hazelnut March 21, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    Thanks for checking out my TT. Your book choice looks promising if those first paragraph sentences are any indication. I hope to get in some quality reading time over this long weekend.

  7. scooper March 21, 2008 at 6:57 pm #

    chapheng- I’ve got to knock this book out. Well after I finish the three in front of it.

    Hazelnut- I want to see the movie…Vin Diesel is in it. Yummy! Have fun reading this weekend.

  8. Susan Helene Gottfried March 21, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    I wrote you some fiction at my place…

Leave a Reply

