Die for Me by Karen Rose

5 Apr

Favorite Lines: ” “So Claire was not a nice person?”…”No, not really. When we got her resignation letter, we had a party.” (p. 302)

When a man finds a body buried in his field he calls the local police and Detective Vito Ciccotelli arrives. Vito believes there might be others buried in the field and it isn’t long before Sophie Johannsen’s name is brought up as a possible consultant.

Sophie is an archaeologist with access to ground penetrating equipment that can identify space in the ground and shapes. She agrees to help the police and by the time she leaves the field nine bodies have been found along with seven empty graves.

As the investigation unfolds, it becomes apparent that the serial killer is using medieval tools of torture on his victims, and they are left baffled at the crimes. The investigators begin following leads from Europe, the black market and medical professionals until the killer arrives on one of their doorsteps intent on cleaning house.

Die for Me is an exciting romantic suspense. In it Ms. Rose introduces and uses many aspects of the medieval time in graphic detail, while placing it in the modern time frame. The descriptions are great visual aides that enhanced the story without drawing attention away from the plot.

The characters were flawed, but not irredeemable. They grew with the story and fit together nicely. There were several secondary characters, which emphasized the planning that was involved in the creation of this novel.

The book is separated by times. So it starts out, Philadelphia January 6 and the next date was Philadelphia Sunday, January 14, 10:25 a.m. The different locations are always identified this way, along with the timeline. It did feel a little confusing at times and I found myself flipping back pages to verify the location of characters. The many names were also confusing at times, in the beginning.

The many names worked at confusing me when it came to identifying the killer too. I thought I knew who it was and then BLAM!, I met a new character and thought, “oh, no. He’s the killer.” I liked that. It made the story last longer for me because I couldn’t be 100% certain who the killer was until I read 60% of the book.

As the book progressed it became easier to navigate and I found myself becoming engrossed. By the time the story ended I was content with having read a good book. I’m not positive, but I’m hoping that the next book, Scream for Me, cleans up the loose ends from this story.

5 Responses to “Die for Me by Karen Rose”

  1. Kimberly Swan April 5, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    I thought this was really good as well, and hope to read Scream for Me sometime soon. Great review! 🙂

  2. scooper April 5, 2008 at 7:05 pm #

    Kimberly- Thank you, lady. We’ll have to compare notes after that book.

  3. Holly April 6, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    I just read this one myself not too long ago (still need to review it) but I agree completely. I started reading KR with her first book, and I feel like I’ve gotten to watch her writing progress with each book. She was good in the beginning, but she’s on her way to being great, IMO.

  4. Fantasy Girl April 6, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    I love books that aren’t predictable and keep you guessing to the very end. Good review of what sounds like an interesting read.

  5. scooper April 7, 2008 at 8:33 pm #

    Holly- I’ve read a few of her books, but this one makes me want to look up those that I missed.

    Fantasy Girl – She’s very good at creating a controlled chaos. There was so much going on that it made it easy for her to sneak in a small whammy.

Leave a Reply

