Lord of the Night by Robin T. Popp

11 Apr

Favorite Lines: “Kacie, a man doesn’t paint pictures of a woman he hates. He doesn’t feel a need to be with her every second he can and he doesn’t fight with her simply because that’s the only way he can get her attention. When I’m with you, my palms are sweaty, my heart races, and all I can think about is how much I don’t want you to leave.” (p. 225)

Vampires made Kacie Renault an orphan. A vampire and vampire hunter gave her a new family.

Kacie thought she was ready to leave the darkness of the past for a nice, quite, safe job in accounting in the USA. She needed a few things from her adoptive father’s home so she went to Hocksley, England, only to find herself being attacked by a vampire. She thinks nothing of killing the creature, until her former sword instructor/vampire Eric Winslow finds out about it.

Hundreds of years prior to Kacie’s birth, Eric and a few other local vampires agreed to a truce. They wouldn’t feed off humans and Winslow’s vampire hunting family wouldn’t kill them. The pact is considered broken when one of the head vampires winds up dead by Kacie’s hand. The only way to keep the peace is to give Kacie to his vampire friends, something he can’t do, especially after saving her life and promising to always keep her safe 20 years ago.

Not knowing of the pact, Kacie wonders why Eric cares so much about the creatures who killed her family. Her animosity towards him doubles, but with it twinges of lust begin to bite her. She begins to see him in a new light. For the crush she had on him before learning he was a vampire is returning and it’s not one sided. The couple will need to keep their wits about them if they wish to find peace together.

Lord of the Night is book four in Robin Popp’s Night Slayer series. It’s an interesting idea. Chupacabras attack humans and their venom transforms them into something more. I found it to be a great take on the vampire mythology. I like the idea of the vampires turning to stone if touched by light. It makes perfect sense because the chupacabras turn to stone in light and come back alive at night. The way it’s explained is easy to understand.

That said, I did not care for the heroine. She was TSTL. She constantly put herself in life threatening situations and really should have been murdered and mourned. Even after being warned about dangers she went out of her way to place herself in the areas she was told to leave alone. The absolute height of stupidity was when she went somewhere after reading a journal. She had a brilliant idea that didn’t work out as planned. (Yes, I’m being sarcastic.)

The book is 309 pages long and I knew what was going to happen by page 130. I know this because as I was reading it I marked the page and thought I’d revisit my hypothesis at the end of the book. Well I did, and I was right. I didn’t know exact details, but I knew who the bad guy was, what a certain person would do towards the end of the story and of course I knew the couple would find peace together. (Awww!!!)

You can read reviews by The Good Bad and Unread, Romance Reader, The Bookloons, and A Blog of Books.

2 Responses to “Lord of the Night by Robin T. Popp”

  1. Kimberly Swan April 13, 2008 at 10:57 pm #

    I liked Eric, and while Kacie had her less than ‘well thought out’ moments I thought it made her more human in the situation she found herself in. 🙂

  2. scooper April 15, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    Kimberly- I just couldn’t find it in me to like Kacie. I wanted to smack her silly and was mad that she didn’t stay dead.

Leave a Reply

