Spectre by Phaedra Weldon

18 Apr

Favorite Lines: ” Walters in Zone 3 just got a report of a crazy hot Puerto Rican woman in a black dress hobbling into his store spitting gibberish at him.” (p. 105 ARC)

Zoe Martinique recently realized that she was transforming into a wraith. At the end of Wraith, she had lost her voice to Trench Coat man. At least a month has passed since Zoe was turned into a wraith and she is still coming to terms with the physical and moral changes taking place. She’s getting more powers and paired with her diabetes is beginning to see many problems with telling her boyfriend about her abilities.

In the last book Zoe failed to perform the task given her by a client and was told they’d be calling in the debt one day. That day has come in Spectre. She has no choice but to do as commanded, which leads her to a black tie political event.

At the event, she sees a ghost hunting group scanning the crowd with special paranormal seeking devices. Intent on fulfilling her debt to the client, Zoe rests in the staff lounge area and soon finds a person trying to kill her while she’s out of body. What ensues is a lot of out of body action and Zoe longing for sex.

Daniel Frasier, the sexy cop she met in Wraith, is still recovering with the help of his cane and he hasn’t given up on Zoe. A face from the past reappears bringing sexual tension from a second place. Zoe still hasn’t had sex with Daniel and it’s driving her nuts. Just when she thinks she might get some, all hell breaks loose.

If you liked Zoe in book one, you’ll be happy to know that she has not changed. She still talks a lot- in her head. She still is fantasizing about sex (which she still hasn’t had) and Daniel is at the top of her list of partners.

Some of the strong points of the book are its ability to show what else is involved in being a wraith, the effect her being a wraith has on her family, and how it affects her future. The dark side makes a strong appearance in the book along with many teasers about Zoe’s father and her love life.

The biggest disappointment for me was that Trench Coat only appears for a few pages. I want to know so much about him and it’s borderline frustrating to be unable to learn more about this interesting character.

I also didn’t get how Zoe missed some of the major spoilers in the book. Somethings were so in her face, I don’t know how she missed them, I certainly didn’t. Despite those things, the book was a good sequel to Wraith.

Spectre goes on sale June 3, 2008.

7 Responses to “Spectre by Phaedra Weldon”

  1. LesleyW April 20, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    This one is on my wishlist and I’m currently waiting for it to come in to Amazon UK. I loved Wraith so hope I like the second book.

  2. Robert April 21, 2008 at 1:57 am #

    This series sounds interesting and is one I’ve been wanting to pick up. Btw, I love the ‘Favorite Lines’ feature 🙂

  3. scooper April 21, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    Robert- Thanks, I thought it would be a good way to have fun, while throwing a teaser out and showing that I really read the books I review.

  4. scooper April 21, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    Lesley- I’m looking forward to book three, where I’m told on good authority TC will be all over it.

  5. scooper April 21, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Lesley- I’m looking forward to book three, where I’m told on good authority TC will be all over it.

  6. Angie April 23, 2008 at 6:08 pm #

    Nice to read a review of this one. I thought the first one was okay. I’m glad the second is good.

  7. scooper April 23, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    Angie- I think book three is going to be the best of the set. Just a small hunch.

Leave a Reply

