Hellgate: GOETIA by Mel Odom

20 Apr

Favorite Lines: “Other eyes covered its head like satellites to the main two.” (p. 40)

It’s the year 2024 and four years have passed since the Demons began to take over earth. They opened the Hellgate, a planetary rift, and have poured through decimating all who come before them. Animal, human and plant life are all being destroyed as the demons take over earth.

Simon Cross is a member of the Templar order, well, an ex-member. He works to help the humans survive the invasion and hopefully with the help of a friend, may find a book, GOETIA, capable of defeating the invaders.

Warren is a Cabalist magically linked to a powerful demon. The demon demands he do horrible things and a need to survive sees him through it all. Until he is given a powerful book to guard. A book that can give him more power than he ever imagined.

I’d never heard of this video game until I was given this book to read. GOETIA is book two in a three part series. I didn’t read the first book, so I went into this at a disadvantage. It stood alone, but it would have been easier to understand and get into if I knew what happened when the hellgate first opened.

One really cool thing about this books is Mel Odom’s ability to have tons of unique characters. He introduces so many individual people and demons in this book. Each is distinct and different from the other.

The book is reminiscent of a video game in many ways. Action reigns supreme. There are several off shoots within the book that have nothing to do with the main adventure, they set the ‘feel’ of the book and explain the importance of ending the demon invasion. This makes it possible for many stories to take place within the one. It doesn’t take away, but can be confusing to those unfamiliar with the idea behind the book.

While I found the book interesting and especially enjoyed the many descriptions of demons, the few spelling errors really irritated me. There was the time when ‘their’ was used instead of ‘there’, and ‘were’ instead of ‘where’. Small and few, but still their presence irritated the crap out of me. Once I saw the first mistake I was alert to the possibility of more. When I made myself stop counting I had only found five, but the damage was done.

The idea is a good one and I think fans of the game will enjoy the book. Don’t think that you’ll get closure with the final turn of the last page though. A great few sentences set up for book three.

3 Responses to “Hellgate: GOETIA by Mel Odom”

  1. T.C. April 21, 2008 at 11:14 am #

    I seriously loved the book. Just finished it last night. I’m so happy Mel sent it to me. I can’t wait for book three.

  2. Carolyn Jean April 22, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    Wow, you really have diverse reading habits. I never read a video game book before. It sounds cool, though.

  3. scooper April 22, 2008 at 9:09 pm #

    T.C.- It was an interesting change and I’m very thankful that Mel sent it, too. 🙂

    Carolyn- I read everything, almost. It was a cool book.

Leave a Reply

