Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

9 May

Favorite line: “I didn’t relate well to people my age.” (p. 10)

Isabella Swan moved to Washington to live with her father in a small town. She didn’t expect to like it there or to fall in love with Edward.

Edward has been 17 since the early 1900’s and was amazed when he fell for Bella. He wanted more than her blood; he wanted her.

My new book buddy at work (Kerry) suggested I read this book. I don’t normally read young adult books, but she said, “it’s not what you’re expecting. I think you’ll like it.”

She was right. My favorite line tells it all. Isabella is not like other teenagers. Reading her story is not like reading some immature love story. It is a sensual journey into a new world. A world Bella never dreamed existed. It is fun and exciting…at times daunting.

As usual there are good and bad vampires in this world, but a new take for me was learning that these vampires cannot sleep and their absolute beauty when in light. This world is easy to read about and enthralled me. The world building was complete and it over flowed onto the characters.

The characters who began with maturity and ended with maturity. Who grew found an unexpected love without rushing into the bedroom. The characters that worked into a great plot that kept a steady pace and invited the reader to continue reading.

I had to know what would happen next. Nothing else mattered other than turning the pages. I’ve since borrowed the next two books in the series and have been informed that a movie is coming out in the fall based on Twilight. (Yep, I’m going to see it.)

10 Responses to “Twilight by Stephenie Meyer”

  1. Marg May 9, 2008 at 10:04 pm #

    For a debut book, this was really written with a lot of assurance! This is my favourite of the three books so far, but I too will definitely be going to see the movie, and reading the next book.

  2. scooper May 9, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    Marg- You’re scaring me about the other books. I’m a little hesitant as it is after reading reviews of them. I don’t feel good about a love triangle, but I’ll read the books just to find out. 🙂

  3. LesleyW May 10, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    Just picked up her latest – The Host, which is not a vampire book. More sci-fi/ invasion of the body snatchers, and told from the point of view of the alien. Had a quick shuffle through the pages and it looks good.

  4. scooper May 10, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    Lesley- Is it a YA?

  5. Ana May 10, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    I adored this book against all odds – I didn’t think I was going to like it, being YA and all (even though I do like some YA like Harry Potter and His Dark Materials) but this truly is a great story. I have the sequels on my TBR.

  6. scooper May 10, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    Ana- It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who thinks like that. I’m going to read the other books this weekend. (Hopefully.) You’ll have to come back after you read them and let me know what you think.

  7. LesleyW May 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Scooper – from what I understand it’s her first book aimed more at adults.

    You can read a little more about it here:-

    http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/thehost.html

  8. scooper May 11, 2008 at 4:59 pm #

    Lesley- I’ll check it out. Thanks.

  9. Robert May 12, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    I recently finished reading/reviewing “The Host” which I absolutely loved! I’m definitely going to try out the Twilight Saga now 🙂

  10. scooper May 12, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    Robert- I’m going to look into that book. I’ve heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

