Hotter After Midnight by Cynthia Eden

10 May

Favorite lines: “So what, one night you ran up on a vampire or a demon in the park? You saw they were real and now you think you’re some kind of hotshot who can go out and fight these things?” (ARC p. 31)

Dr. Emily Drake is a paranormal psychologist. She helps vampires, shifters and other creatures come to terms with what makes them different. When a killer shows paranormal tendencies she is asked to advise the police about who they are up against. As their profiler she shares her knowledge of the Others with her partner.

Dr. Drake is paired with Colin Gyth, a detective hiding a secret. He’s a shifter, but she doesn’t know what kind, leaving him as a possible threat. He’s afraid of being outed because he tried it in the past the results weren’t stellar.

Emily is attracted to Colin physically and emotionally, but she knows that not knowing what kind of shifter could be deadly. They are volatile creatures and she must be careful.

A Murderer with shifter tendencies is on the loose. He is playing a game of cat and mouse with the doctor and her detective. Unfortunately, they don’t know that they’re the newest toy for a killer. They will have to trust each other by sharing their pasts (and possibly their futures) in order to catch him before he kills again.

I plowed through this book. It is racy, exciting and tastefully written. It is a paranormal romantic suspense. The plot is fast paced and the storytelling wonderful.

I loved the way foreshadowing is used. Early clues are written into scenes in a subtle manner that failed to ring warning bells. You know the kind that scream, “This is important!”

I was awed at the way she used it. I was thrilled that she treated me as a smart reader and made me work for the answer. I didn’t even realize what she was doing until it was over. When I read the first trail that possibly could have been foreshadowing I followed it like a dog scenting an animal. I eventually lost track with all the excitement, but later it was as if the animal dropped into my lap. It felt rewarding.

I loved the characters, and the story line.

I’m a sucker for shifters and demon tales these days. Cynthia Eden did not disappoint me. She made me feel like I had discovered paranormal romance all over again. This book is a keeper for me and will remain on my shelf. The sex scenes are guaranteed to send tingles. (Yeah, I said it.) The who-dun-it factor worked for me, too. Combine those major aspects and you have me loving a story.

Bravo, Ms. Eden. You’ve won me over with your clever skills in this book. If this is an example of your writing I will definitely be reading more, and I expect a book to follow up on the world you’ve exposed and the other creatures I met. Hint hint: Niol. 😉

Read the first chapter at here. Reviews are posted at the Long and Short of it, Sensual, Alternative Worlds and Caffey’s Reads.

Normally I try to find a variety of reviews; good and bad reviews for a well rounded look at the story. Sometimes the only thing posted is good. This happens to be one of those cases. I went to page 5 of a Google search and found only positive reviews.

5 Responses to “Hotter After Midnight by Cynthia Eden”

  1. Cynthia Eden May 11, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    Thank you so much for the review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed reading Hotter After Midnight–and, the story I’m almost (as in days away from completing) is Niol’s. 🙂

  2. Carolyn Jean May 11, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    Wow! This sounds fabulous. It is going on my list now. I love everything about how this sounds.

  3. scooper May 11, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    Cynthia- Yay!!! I’m buying it. Thanks for stopping by.

    Carolyn- I was quite pleased, if you can’t tell by my review. 🙂 I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

  4. Rosie May 11, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    Scoop, I picked this one up on impulse. Haven’t had a chance to crack into it, but was relieved to see it’s a good one when I read your review.

  5. scooper May 11, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    The cover doesn’t do it justice. I don’t know what I would like, but the book is great.

Leave a Reply

