New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

14 May

Favorite Lines: “The contrast between the two of us was painful. He looked like a god. I looked very average, even for a human, almost shamefully plain. I flipped the picture over with a feeling of disgust.” (p. 65)

Isabella Swan found love in book one, Twilight. Now she finds that love is not an easy thing.

Bella thought everything was going great with her new love, Edward. They spent almost every second of every day together. Until a birthday party went wrong and he left her.

Left her to live an empty life without him.

Months later, she begins to surface from her self imposed exile to spend time with Jacob and they become best friends. The inseparable duo soon finds that they both have secrets to keep from the other. Or so they think.

When a danger from Bella’s past rears its head, she thinks life will soon be over. She is surprised to learn of that Jacob may be able to save her from the monsters that seek her.

One of my favorite parts of this book is the use of blank pages. They are creatively used in a way that says more than any words ever could. They brought me to tears.

New Moon made me cry. It broke my heart as deeply as Edward broke Bella’s. It then left me to wallow in pain with her (and my own memories of heartbreak) before beginning to heal. I cheered for Bella as she did dangerous things and smiled as she became a better friend to Jacob.

The paranormal is all over this book, but for me the attraction is all wrapped up in the emotional warfare that takes place. It tugs on personal memories creating a personal tie between me, the reader, and the main character.

I thought this book was going to be something else after talking to people about it. It thought it was a love triangle and that made me hesitate despite me enjoyment of Twilight. I was wrong. Bella makes it clear that it is Edward she loves in a grown up man-woman kind of way. She loves Jacob, but he is her friend.

I really want to know what will happen when Edward and Bella take another jump in their relationship. Will they ever be able to have sex? Or because this is a YA does that make it impossible?

9 Responses to “New Moon by Stephenie Meyer”

  1. Angie May 14, 2008 at 1:31 pm #

    I’m glad you liked this one. I did, too. Meyer readers seem to fall into Love It or Hate It camps with New Moon. Looking forward to your review of Eclipse. I just finished The Host and absolutely loved it.

  2. Kimberly Swan May 14, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    Great review, very informative. 🙂 I didn’t realize there was a lot of romance in these. To your questions at the end of the review….Not really sure how far they can go and still be considered YA, but I’m curious about that as well.

  3. scooper May 14, 2008 at 7:19 pm #

    Angie- I’m glad I allowed myself to read this series. It was a good read. I’ve been thinking about trying The Host.

    Kimberly Swan- I was terrified it’d be a, “I don’t know who I love,” story. I was wrong. 🙂

  4. Kimberly Swan May 14, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    Yes, I remember that is one element you don’t really like in a book. You must have been quite relieved that it wasn’t that way. 🙂

  5. scooper May 14, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    Kimberly- Def. relieved. It was a great story that I’d read again and again.

  6. Kimberly Swan May 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Must be quite good to have you willing to read it several time. 🙂

    hmmm….and now I just have to ask…have you assigned me an avatar? lol That is just too funny. Gotta love that tooth. *grin*

  7. Chrissy June 19, 2008 at 4:50 pm #

    I think they should be able to have sex in Breaking Dawn. Stephenie Meyer already confirmed that it will be Bella and Edward together forever, so let’s hope. I assume Meyer will subtly tell us when they’re having sex but this is where we put our AP English skills to the test guys!

  8. scooper June 20, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    Chrissy- I hope so. You mean I’m supposed to use what I learned in school? *shocked* Just kidding. I’m really looking forward to finishing this series.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interviews & Reviews | Literary Escapism - June 7, 2008

    […] – New Moon by Stephenie […]

Leave a Reply

