Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

15 May

Favorite Line: “He wasn’t my Jacob when he wore it.” (p. 76)

It seems like Bella has loved Edward forever. He is the air to her and she like blood to him; both are necessary for the other’s happiness.

Bella is a senior in high school and on the verge of graduation. The culmination of her life sits around the corner. She is ready to begin her new undead life.

Edward will do nothing to risk Bella and that includes coming between her and Jake. He gallantly steps aside, knowing that their friendship means a lot to her.

It’s a time for goodbyes and revelations. A time when anything is possible. A time for the past to haunt the present.

Out of the three books, this is my least favorite. Twilight was exciting and a fresh look at YA books for me. New Moon was an emotional wreck that pulled me with it as it crashed, burned and began anew. Eclipse felt almost like the end.

I guess it kind of is. From the way the epilogue was written it seems possible the next story will be told by Jacob, Jake. That could be interesting, but I don’t know that it will be. If you know, please comment and share the wealth with the rest of us.

I enjoyed the book, but I didn’t believe for one minute in a love triangle. Not one. I like Jake. Not enough to believe that he ever had a chance with Bella as anything more than a friend. She makes that clear over and over again. While she was very clear in this area she seemed a little ‘iffy’ in others.

At times it seemed like Bella was taking a realistic look at what being a vampire meant. She knew she’d have to give up her friends and parents, but it seemed like she didn’t really relate to them well prior to the past six months.

The sex issue is explored too. Bella pushes it and Edward resists; kind of a nice change from the norm. Personally, I want them to have sex. I want to see how well he controls himself. That would be the ultimate test. I haven’t really talked about it but the book doesn’t revolve around Bella. There are other important things that take place in in the book that have nothing to with her.

For example, the pack dynamics come into play also. We learn about werewolves interaction with one another and their history, why they came into existence.

Eclipse brings everything together. It sets up for the final book of the Twilight series, Breaking Dawn. It ties up many loose ends, explaining both Edward and the werewolves. It levels out Bella, Edward and James’ relationship after their many lows and highs. It’s a mellow enjoyable book.

Check out reviews at Squeaky Books, Reading fanatic, and a Self Proclamation.

5 Responses to “Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer”

  1. Holly May 15, 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    This is my least favorite in the series, also. You mentioned in your review of Twilight that the book didn’t feel like a true YA book because Bella didn’t act like a teenager (totally paraphrasing, obviously) but I’m afraid she did in this book. She seemed much more self-involved and unaware of the effect her actions had on others.

    And the love triangle was ridiculous. I didn’t believe it for a second, either.

    I also found myself extremely frustrated over Edward’s sudden ability to “get over” his need for Bella’s blood. That was one of the major conflicts of the series, and one I felt was key to the plot.

    I’m curious enough to see how she ends the series to read Breaking Dawn, but my expectations are set very high.

  2. Thea May 15, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    Eclipse was my favorite of the three books–I know I’m in the distinct minority on this one. I not only believed in the love triangle, but I actually am gunning for Jacob.

    Because of Edward’s decision to leave Bella in New Moon, there are consequences, and I think Stephanie Meyer does a wonderful (if heartbreaking) job of exploring that with the triangle. I love that she writes these books not as some simple, epic romance between Edward and Bella, but with that cutting edge of realism where you reap what you sow.

    I think it all comes from this problem I have with the very essence of the relationship between Edward and Bella–in order for them to be together, Bella must sacrifice everything she is, her friends, her family, and her very soul. And it strikes me as incredibly wrong…I don’t know. Like I said, I’m in the minority on this one.

    But just offering a different perspective 🙂

  3. scooper May 16, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    Holly- I hadn’t thought of it like that, but you’ve nailed it. She was selfish and immature in ways that she hadn’t been previously. I’m hoping that the book meets our expectations. I’m waiting to see how this ends. 🙂

    Thea- You didn’t find Jake to be extremely immature? Maybe he’s just acting his age, but I felt like Bella paired well with Edward because both had huge responsibilities and Bella was mature beyond her years.

    I see that Jake brings out the light hearted side of her though. I get the reap what you sow bit too. He does need to suffer. He dumped her in a brutal manner and shouldn’t be allowed right back in.

    And as for being a minority…I feel that every time I fall in love with a book that everyone else hates. So stop by and be a minority any time. 😉

  4. Zoe May 26, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    I thought they were all brilliant and my friend agrees with me.
    In twilight my heart missed a beat when I read about her and James. My mum got worried as I couldn’t put it down. I even read it during class!
    But I love them all.

  5. scooper May 26, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    Zoe- I’m glad you enjoyed the books. I guess that one of the wonderful things you realize when you read a ton and read other people’s reviews that everyone finds and takes something different out of a book.

    So I’m wondering if you are one of the people I’ve met rooting for Jake? My friend (who introduced me to the series) would love for Jake and Bella to be together. Me, I’m a sucker for Edward. I think Jake’ll find his true love and be happier for it.

Leave a Reply

