Devil you Know by Jenna Black

25 May

Favorite Line: “From the moment I’d found out I was possessed, my life had shot straight to hell and stayed there.” (p. 3 ARC)

Morgan Kingsley is an exorcist who is possessed by the king of demons, Lugh. In her head lies (and lays) the only hope for humanity.

She knew demons weren’t to be trusted and learning they want to create human vegetables to live in solidifies her hatred. She abhors them and wants them gone. Unfortunately, that can’t happen until Lugh’s brother is stopped.

Morgan is being stalked for her demon knowledge and doesn’t stand a chance against the psycho demon stalking her without Lugh’s help. For the demon hunting her is gleefully determined to torture the location of the exiled king out of her.

With family issues tearing her apart and lust filled thoughts are haunting her dreams, Morgan does what she does best. Tazer anyone stupid enough to get in her way.

Morgan is stubborn, mean and a hot mess. She suffered physically in The Devil Inside, now she must face the emotional battle: a battle against her ex-boyfriend, brother and parents. Each will have dire repercussions and the backlash alone might kill her, if the lust doesn’t burn her up first.

One of the hardest parts of this book is remembering that Lugh is not corporeal. He is in her mind with no real body. I kept finding myself wanting them to hook up and then I’d realize that it would only happen in her subconscious. It wouldn’t be life altering. It would be a simple sexual release and nothing more. Because how do you have a relationship with a demon?

As in the previous book, there is a sexual scene involving MM. It’s interesting to see it play out in the book, but it also made me uncomfortable. Not uncomfortable enough to put down the book though.

One of the great things about this series is how easy it is to read. It’s a one day, entertaining book that allows the reader to flip pages, but doesn’t leave the reader hollow. It’s sizzling and snarky. It’ll make you mad at the heroine before making you feel bad for her. I guess that’s all you can really ask from a book.

A break from reality. A vacation in a world you would never live in, but would like a peak at. Something that can interest you and make you care enough to react emotionally, either in anger or joy.

Ms. Black does a great job filling in the back-story without irritating the reader; this is imperative for the reader to understand The Devil you Know. For the best understanding and appreciation, read book one The Devil Inside.

Read chapter one. The Devil You Know goes on sale July 29.

11 Responses to “Devil you Know by Jenna Black”

  1. sidhevicious May 25, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    I loved the first book, The Devil Inside and am looking forward to The Devil You Know. Thanks for the review! 🙂

  2. Robert May 25, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    Nice review 🙂 I have a copy of “The Devil Inside” around here somewhere, which I need to find because the sequel sounds great!

  3. scooper May 25, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    sidhevicious- This one is like the last one. The action and sex, hot.

    Robert- Thanks, you should read that before this one to fully appreciate it.

  4. Jackie May 26, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    I found the first novel a couple of months ago and have been anxiously awaiting the next one. I loved the idea that the main couple in the novel are gay. How many paranormal books have that? Bisexual, yeah, but not straight up gay. It’s so different, it’s awesome.

    It’s not due out for another 2 months!? You are one lucky bastard to get it this early. 😛

  5. scooper May 26, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    Jackie- Well, now I’m kinda at a disadvantage. I’ll need the next book even longer than you. Ms. Black is really nice and responded quickly to my request for a review copy. I don’t do interviews, but I’ve been thinking about requesting one from her.

  6. Wendy May 26, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    I like The Devil Inside so I’m looking forward to reading The Devil You Know – great review, Scooper! 🙂

  7. scooper May 26, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    Thanks Wendy.

  8. kmont May 27, 2008 at 8:07 am #

    Looking so forward to this one! Good review! I usually do way too many spoilers in mine, but was glad not to see them in this one. I’d rather this book be a complete surprise.

  9. scooper May 27, 2008 at 6:56 pm #

    Kmont- I really try not to include spoilers, so I’m glad you liked the review.

  10. LesleyW June 4, 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    So jealous that you’ve got this.

    Definitely one of the books I’m looking forward to.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Devil Take It….I’m Jealous!! | Literary Escapism - May 26, 2008

    […] I am so completely jealous of Scooper right now. She managed to get her hands on an early copy of The Devil You Know by Jenna Black and has a review up about it at her site. […]

Leave a Reply

