How do I???

26 May

Okay I’m going crazy. I’ve been playing with my keyboard trying to figure out how to an em dash and I can’t do it. On the MAC sure I can do it, no prob., but on my personal computers…nope, nada, nothing. I’m going loca…losing all my bananas…the pigeons have flown their tiny coop. Help me..

Scooper

6 Responses to “How do I???”

  1. Sandy Hagman May 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm #

    If you are using Microsoft Word for Windows, the shortcut key for an em dash is ALT+CTRL+Num- (that’s the – key on the number keypad on the right). An en dash is CTRL+Num -. To insert these from the menu, click Insert, Symbol, click on the Special Characters tab, select and click Insert button. You can also assign a different shortcut key. Hope this helps.

  2. Jaci Burton May 27, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    you can also type two short dashes together like this–followed immediately by the next word without a space after the two dashes and Word should convert the two short dashes into the em dash for you. At least it does for me.

  3. relliott4 May 27, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    I didn’t know there was a shortcut. LOL.

    I usually type a word and hit the hyphen twice. The trick is to not space after it. The second word has to be attached. To end a sentence with it, I type the word, click the hyphen twice and hit one letter to get it to turn into an em dash. Then I backspace the letter out.

  4. scooper May 27, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    Thanks Sandy, Jaci and Rinda. My stupid laptop won’t allow me to do the–trick. But, I do now know how to use the symbol option to insert one. Woo0-whoooo. *Yeah, so I need a little help writing sounds now.*

  5. Carolyn Jean May 28, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    Sometimes a good approximation is the hyphen surrounded by spaces – like so. When I can’t make a proper em dash for whatever reason I use that.

    But how frustrating!!!

  6. scooper May 28, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    Carolyn- That was my old standby. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who does it.

Leave a Reply

