Telling kids no to books

20 Jun

I don’t normally visit the library. I’m a bad borrower. Yesterday I decided to take my girls there though. I remembered being dropped off as a kid and spending all night there. I’d go home from school and ask to be taken to the library, where I’d stay until it closed at 9 p.m.

I remember the excitement I felt when I found books that I’d seen in magazines or in the store. Yesterday I watched my oldest do the same thing…until the librarian told her she couldn’t check out the book because it was a reference book.

The Guinness Book of World Records 2008. Off limits to tons of children who are all eager to read. It’s unbelievable to me. Why wouldn’t they get more than one copy of a popular book? The librarian said next year it’ll be available for checkout. She also said that my daughter was only one in many who wanted to take it home.

Pissed, I told my daughter I’d buy it for her. So stimulus money where are you? I’ve got a mass market book to buy and a hardcover 2009 Guinness Book of World Records to pre-order.

2 Responses to “Telling kids no to books”

  1. ChariDee July 12, 2008 at 9:43 pm #

    I can’t believe the library said a book was off limits to check-out! Why even have a book in there that isn’t available for lend? My son HAD to have this book, and we also HAD to buy a copy for his classroom. Everyday we are inundated with facts from this book! The kids LOVE it. Shame on that library for withholding books from young readers!

  2. scooper July 15, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    ChariDee- I thought so too! I think one of the worst parts is that my child was not the only one. The librarian made it a point to tell me that several children tried to check it out. I bought the book. I went to Wal-Mart and bought it.

Leave a Reply

