Servant: The Acceptance by L.L. Foster

15 Sep

Favorite Lines: “The defenses screaming silently throughout her body and that he was the wrong person, in the wrong place—and there could be nothing right about his presence here tonight. Pickled with immorality, riddled with holes of depravity, his black aura clung to him like a wet cloak.” (p. 2)

Gabrielle Cody is a paladin, a soldier of God, sent to destroy evil in the world. She lives with the dregs of society, and is saddled with the burden of saving lives, while stomping out evil. After her mentor and friend were killed, she disappeared and created a new existence as a guardian for prostitutes.

When a prostitute winds up dead, Gaby kicks into gear, determined that no other women under her protection be tortured and killed. At the same time a man from Gaby’s past finds her and begins pressing her for any information she might have on the dead prostitute, while kissing her senseless.

Servant: The Acceptance is an interesting story, but it lost me when it kept throwing words I didn’t know at me. I read a lot, but when every page I turn has a word I’ve never heard of on it there’s a problem. Words like: consociation, sui generous, aphotic, aggrandized, recondite, dehiscent, perspicacious…, made me feel stupid and took away from the story. I began to wonder if it were a tactic to make me think the book was smarter than it was.

The book was interesting, but simple. There was violence, blunt talk and a strong heroine: all a plus in my book. The bad guy, was obvious, the conclusion too fast. The secondary characters played a very small role in the book and other than one young prostitute, were uninteresting.

I had high hopes for this series, but I’m finding that the Servant series is not enrapturing like I thought it would be.

Will I read the next book in the series? Probably. Will I run out to buy it? No.

Read other reviews of Servant: The Acceptance at Romance Junkies and Queue My Review.

9 Responses to “Servant: The Acceptance by L.L. Foster”

  1. thebizarrelibrary September 16, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    Yeah, I couldn’t even get into the first one. I still don’t know what the evil was at the end of the book. Cool looking covers though.

  2. scooper September 17, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    thebizarrelibrary: I read the first one and initially liked it. The end wasn’t great, but leading up to it I had fun. This time I was so sidetracked that I had a hard time paying attention.

  3. queuemyreview September 19, 2008 at 9:21 am #

    I am actually kind of scared of reading these books. I love Lori Foster but am not so sure I would enjoy the darker storylines. Great review though!

  4. scooper September 19, 2008 at 9:24 am #

    Que: Thanks for popping over. I think I prefer her regular books.

  5. Kimberly Swan September 19, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    I never got around to reading the first one and still have it sitting here. I normally enjoy her writing, but it doesn’t sound like I should rush out to get the 2nd book in this series. 😦 Thanks for sharing the informative review. 🙂

  6. Cora Zane September 19, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Ooh, great review, Scooper.

    I just looked at this book on the shelf yesterday. I started to pick it up but came away with something totally different. That’s a powerful cover to say the least, and I’ve been thinking of going back to get it, but I worry if I’d stick with it if I need a dictionary to interpret it.

    I thought the first book was okay, but it took me a while to read it. There are exceptions to the rule, of course, but detectives just really aren’t my thing and that’s the route of the first book.

    Admittedly, I’m tempted by this new one, but I may end up reading a chapter or two in-store before I make up my mind whether or not to purchase.

  7. scooper September 22, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Kimberly: The idea is a good one, but it wasn’t Foster’s best work.

    Cora: Thanks. I always hate writing reviews for books that make me feel blah. The cover is great and I’m a cover girl junkie though and I would have bought the book based on the cover.

  8. Ron November 2, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    Hey, for the dude who said he liked the covers — the cover model was Crystalann, a friend of mine that can be found here: http://www.myspace.com/crystalanncrystalaura

    she said she has another gig posing for another cover coming up, i do not know if it is for the next in the series….

  9. scooper November 3, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    Ron: That’s cool.

Leave a Reply

