Quicksand by Iris Johansen

22 Sep

Favorite Line: “”Did you have an affair with him?” Eve felt a ripple of shock. She wanted to back away, change the subject, but she wasn’t going to lie to Jane. “No, it wasn’t like that.” “It might have been better if it had been. He disturbs the hell out of you.”” (ARC p. 36)

Iris Johansen does not disappoint with her newest installment in the Eve Duncan series, Quicksand.

Eve’s daughter disappeared years ago, and while Eve has since created her own haphazard family she has never given up the hope of finding her daughter’s remains. Seeking closure, she finds herself flirting with danger in the form of child serial killer, Kistle.

Kistle won’t let Eve off easily. He was content in his under the radar life that was ruined when Eve’s lover, Joe Quinn, set up surveillance on him. He entices her to play a game with him; a game that might lead to Eve’s daughter, Bonnie.

With help from Joe, her friends, Montalvo and Miguel, and Listener, Megan, Eve sets out to do the improbable, bring her daughter home.

I’ll admit that I haven’t read every book in this series. I go through phases when I absolutely love Johansen’s books and others when I’d be quite content to leave them. With Quicksand I was pleased that I read it. The secondary characters were well rounded and complex. They raised so many questions in my mind and created a curiosity to know more about them. I know that Joe has always been around, but I find myself rooting for Montalvo.

The twist at the end of Quicksand is better than I could have imagined. It was unexpected, yet made me think, “about time.” There were no WTF moments. The story was complete and well thought out.

The setting was quite believable and every time the setting changed a new atmosphere was created down to the last detail.

Overall, Quicksand combines great characterization with great scenery and a storyline that left nothing to the imagination. It pulled together many elements and created a wonderful product, Quicksand.

Read another person’s opinion at Book Rater’s Literature.

2 Responses to “Quicksand by Iris Johansen”

  1. Rosie October 4, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    Crud, I didn’t buy this one and now it turns out I should have. Damn it!

    Oh, and I love HEROES too. We are avidly watching. It’s one of the few shows on TV I hate to miss.

  2. scooper October 8, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    Rosie- I’m glad I picked it up. It was a super quick read and enjoyable also.

Leave a Reply

