Dark Harvest by Lynda Hilburn

16 Oct

Favorite line: “Cringing while I listened to him, I was reminded that no matter what kinds of paranormal monsters might be hiding in the closet, we humans were capable of spewing our fair share of ugliness into the world.” (p. 34)

When you’re a vampire or vampire wannabe living in Denver and you need psychiatric counseling, who can you see? Kismet Knight, of course!

After learning that vampires are real, hooking up with the leader of the vampires, Deveraux, and almost being killed by a crazy vampire Kismet has managed to maintain her sanity and adjust to the new knowledge.

She is still learning about the paranormal, while trying to drum up more business. To do so, she agrees to guest host on a morning talk show only to find the host rude, obnoxious and down right nasty. During the hour long on-air guest spot, Kismet is puzzled, terrified and somehow aroused when the oldest living vampire/vampire hunter, Lyren Hallow, calls the show and tells her he is hunting.

On her way out of the building, Kismet meets Maxie, a wild and rambunctious tabloid writer  who is determined to make Kismet her new best friend.

I really enjoyed  Lynda Hilburn‘s The Vampire Shrink and was excited to finally purchase Dark Harvest. Kismet is a psychologist unafraid to share her opinion and a woman that knows her own mind. Well, she did until Lyren, a psycho vampire came around. Now, she’s going off at the drop of a pin, aroused like never before, and letting go of all inhibitions.

Good thing she has a lover and would-be-mate that refuses to give her up; Deveraux will fight for Kismet. One thing I that made me like this book was the respect Deveraux showed towards Kismet when she began losing control. A normal man would have taken Kismet at face value and ignored the deeper meaning in her actions, but that never occured to Deveraux, giving him the thumbs up from me. (As if he needed much. He’s already the honcho vampire, sexy, great sex drive and deeply in love with his girl.)

Kismet and Deveraux’s relationship is growing with the story and I look forward to reading about their journey to true love. They aren’t the only good things in Dark Harvest, though. The secondary characters are great. My personal favorite is Deveraux’s assistant, Victoria the witch. She is smart, friendly and strong.

My least favorite character by far was Maxie. I disliked her on sight, and at the end…Well read the book and you can tell me if I was right or wrong. Read other revies at Literary Escapism, Paranormal Romance Reviews and SciFiGuy.ca.

7 Responses to “Dark Harvest by Lynda Hilburn”

  1. LesleyW October 17, 2008 at 3:10 am #

    I keep meaning to pick up The Vampire Shrink, it’s been on my wishlist for ages. I think partly I haven’t because I didn’t know if it was a standalone or part of a series.

    Now I know, :), so will probably pick it up on my next trip.

  2. Jackie (Literary Escapism) October 17, 2008 at 9:56 am #

    I have to agree with you on Maxie. I understand why she had to be in the novel, but seriously, there were times I just wished Kismet would knock her around.

  3. scooper October 17, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Lesley: I’ll be following the series. I think this book is even better than The Vampire Shrink and from what I remember I enjoyed it. (Hey, it was a year ago that I read it. :))

    Jackie: She needed a beat down and by the end it was understandable.

  4. Brie October 17, 2008 at 2:22 pm #

    read your review for The Vampire Shrink then went out and bought it, but haven’t read it yet. I think I will now that the second book is out. Thanks for the review. 🙂

  5. scooper October 17, 2008 at 9:03 pm #

    Brie: So go read!!! I’d love to hear what you think about the series.

  6. SciFiGuy October 23, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks for the link to my review. I like your take on Devereaux.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dark Harvest by L. Hilburn | Literary Escapism - October 17, 2008

    […] Also Reviewed by: Darque Reviews Paranormal Romance Reviews SciFiGuy.ca Scooper Speaks […]

Leave a Reply

