What do you really think…

11 Nov

about the blurbs on the back of the books you buy? I ask for a simple reason. The blurbs are supposed to entice you to purchase the book, but what happens when the blurb turns you off on a book? For me Mercury’s War is a perfect example.

I was going to buy the book the day it came out. After I read the back of the book, I put it back. I ended up borrowing the book from my cousin because I was so hesitant about buying it. Why? Because I didn’t want to read about a love triangle. The back of the book let me know that Mercury’s long thought dead mate was still alive.

So where’s the problem you ask? The blurb gives away too much. It ruins the surprise that comes with introducing a new character. The entire time I read the book I wondered when the third wheel would make an appearance.

This all adds up to me asking the blurb writers of the world one huge favor. Can you please stop telling me the entire story and just give me info that happens in the first three or four chapters? Please, no more chapter 24 information on the back of the book.

I’m done now.

4 Responses to “What do you really think…”

  1. Literary Feline November 11, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    I read blurbs to determine whether I want to read the book also. I haven’t run into a blurb that has turned me off from picking up a book to read (yet), but I have run into the second problem you mention–too much information. It’s happened to me twice recently, and in one case, I really do think I might have enjoyed the book better had I not known about the little twist the back cover mentioned. I kept waiting and waiting and waiting for the big event, and it didn’t happen until near the end. It took something away from my enjoyment of the first part of the book.

  2. scooper November 12, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    Literary Feline: That’s exactly what I’m talkin’ about. I just want to know if there is a way to prevent this from happening or are we stuck with what we get.

  3. Holly November 12, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    This just happened to me with a book, too. It was Unravel Me by Christie Ridgway. Although in my case it wasn’t that they gave too much away, but that they gave a completely untrue account.

    It basically made the book sound like it was a “younger man/older woman” story, which I tend to loathe. But that wasn’t the case at all. I find that just as frustrating as when they give away too much.

  4. scooper November 12, 2008 at 11:48 pm #

    Holly:I’m not a fan of Younger man/Older woman either. I’m especially not a fan of bad blurbs.

Leave a Reply

