Mercury’s War by Lora Leigh

12 Nov

mercuryswarleighFavorite lines: “One minute she was searching for the file she remembered seeing the day before, the next minute there was an iron rod pressing against the seam of her ass through her skirt and Mercury’s pants.” (p. 53)

Ria Rodriquez is hiding behind a dowdy wardrobe and Mercury Warrant is the Breed dying to find out all of her secrets. The perfect mix of lion and human, Mercury has suppressed his inner beast, and wants to know what turns Ria on and reasons for being at Sanctuary. He doesn’t believe she is performing an audit for one minute.

Ria is searching for the leak at Sanctuary. Someone is sharing secrets and she plans to seal the leak quickly, not counting on her growing feelings for Mercury. She wants more than he can give. She wants a mate, but because Breeds mate only one time and Mercury lost his mate years ago, she doesn’t stand a chance.

I’m so glad I read Mercury’s War. I thought it was going to be a story all about a love triangle, but boy was I wrong.  Mercury’s War is a love story about Mercury and Ria. During the romance we learn that someone is selling information about the Breeds. This is a secondary plot line, as the main focus is all about Mercury and Ria.

I loved Mercury. He is the dream alpha character. He is strong, sexually aggressive, and determined to make Ria happy. He is protective and demanding, but willing to give his life for Ria. Mercury is sex on feet.

Ria is a strong woman, but it isn’t until the final chapters of the book that the reader is told just how strong she really is. Believe me, it’s worth waiting for.

The suspense storyline about danger to Sanctuary wasn’t strong to me, but I’m okay with that because of how much I enjoyed the characters: main and secondary alike. Remember, Lora Leigh writes erotic stories. If you don’t like explicit sex, you won’t like this book.

Check out The Way I See It, Book Binge, and Errant Dreams, to read what other people thought about Mercury’s War. You can buy it at Penguin Books, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Borders.

6 Responses to “Mercury’s War by Lora Leigh”

  1. Holly November 12, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    I didn’t really care for the Breeds until I read her novella in The Magical Christmas Cat anthology. I’m still not convinced the series is for me (I read the first one and didn’t care for it at all), but I’m more open minded about it now than I was before.

    Do you think I could start the series with this book? Or do I really need to back and read the earlier ones?

  2. scooper November 12, 2008 at 11:46 pm #

    I haven’t read every book in the series, either. But if you know the purpose of Sanctuary, what Sanctuary is keeping secret and why, you should be okay. If you don’t want to read the other books, I’d suggest reading what the books are about on the author’s website.

  3. Heather (errantdreams) March 17, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    I go back and forth on this series… some of the books are just okay, and some are really great. But I tend to think it’s worth reading the okay ones to get to the great ones.

  4. scooper March 17, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m with you Heather. That’s one of the reasons I don’t review every book in the series.

  5. Lucy September 24, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I have to say, I am hook on Lora Leigh breed stories. They are awesome. Just wondering, is there a book on Dane?

  6. scooper September 24, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    HI Lucy! There’s no book on Dane yet, but Leigh says it’s coming. If you follow the link below you’ll find a list of all the Breed books along with the characters portrayed in each book. Have fun! http://www.loraleigh.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=61

Leave a Reply

