Ghost of a Chance by Kate Marsh

7 Dec

ghostofachancemarshFavorite Lines: “Red agony washed over me, so great it almost blinded me, driving every thought from my head but ceaseless, unending anguish.” (p. 82)

As if owing money to the Akashic League of Otherworld wasn’t enough, Karma Marx, anomalies exterminator, is now stuck in a house with her hopefully soon to be ex-husband, her father, her foster-polter daughter, various ghosts and creatures, and Adam Dirgesinger, the former homeowner.

Karma has agreed to ‘clean’ her husband’s newly acquired home if he agrees to grant her a divorce. Once at the home, tensions quickly escalate, culminating with the house being sealed, with no one allowed to enter or exit.

Twelve hours is a long time though. The perfect amount of time for murder.

Ghost of a Chance by Kate Marsh, aka Katie MacAlister, is a paranormal mystery told in the first person by Karma Marx. This who-dun-it is a paranormal updated version of Clue. Imagine being locked in a spooky house with Others and knowing that one of the people locked inside with you is a killer. It’s a great set up for the story.

I feel like I got to know the characters rather well, yet I still didn’t know who the killer was until the very end of the story. I was blindsided (in a good way). All along Ms. Marsh had me hating characters, feeling sympathy for others and yearning for more.

She did an excellent job of introducing ideas, backing away from them, and following through later when least expected. This worked to lure me into a line of thinking only to prove later that she tricked me. It didn’t make me feel stupid, it made me excited to be so involved in all the action.

Ghost of a Chance will take you into a haunted house with a killer and unravel many secrets before teaching a valuable lesson. No one gets away with murder.

You can read other reviews at Bookmom, Eternal Night,  and Romance Reviews Today.

3 Responses to “Ghost of a Chance by Kate Marsh”

  1. Rowena December 16, 2008 at 2:00 am #

    This looks like something I could sink my teeth into, thanks for the review!

  2. scooper December 16, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    I was pleasantly surprised that I liked it. It’s pretty short, but I’m mainly surprised that I didn’t know who did it. 🙂

  3. Clue Game Fan September 2, 2009 at 6:54 am #

    I love Clue and the paranormal – sounds like my kinda story, thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

