Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

19 Dec

deadtotheworldharrisFavorite Lines: “I just hope to not be beaten up,” I said my weariness and the hour combining in an ill-timed burst of honesty. “I don’t want to go to the hospital. I don’t want to see a doctor.” I didn’t want to ingest any vampire blood, either, which would cure you in a hurry but had various side effects. “So my resolution is to stay out of trouble.” (p. 14)

And so saying, Sookie left her waitressing job at Merlotte’s and headed home for the night. She didn’t make it very far before seeing a man dressed in only blue jeans running down the road. Shocked, she pulled over and called out to Eric and found he had amnesia.

Sookie contacts Pam, Eric’s second in command, and is told that the vampires are at war with a group of witches intent on taking over all the vampire businesses. Led by a brother and sister team, the witches are terrifying local witches and wiccans while targeting the vampires.

All is not bad though. Eric is kind, gentle, loving and needy. He relies upon Sookie and worms his way into her aching heart, helping to heal the horrible rip Bill rendered.

I know I said Club Dead was my favorite book. I’ve changed by mind. Now I like Dead to the World better because I love the portrayal of Eric. He is sensitive, but protective of Sookie. He seeks her approval and comfort, but he can still fight. In ways he is innocent.

In Dead to the World, Sookie protects Eric from a world that is looking for him, and her brother, Jason, winds up missing. Both throw Sookie into turmoil. Eric by making her start to fall for him and Jason by making her worry over his disappearance. More supernatural creatures are introduced and alliances are made before a peaceful conclusion. Well peaceful and Sookie don’t really go together, so before the conclusion.

One thing niggled in my head though. On page 28 the book says that Jason’s truck has pink and purple flames. In all the other books he had pink and purple swirls. Small, yes. Irritating, definitely.

Visit Loves Vampires, Infinity Plus, The SF Site, or World According to Books, to read other people’s thoughts on this book. Happy Reading!

11 Responses to “Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris”

  1. ewokallie December 20, 2008 at 2:04 am #

    this is my favorite one in the series

  2. Carolyn Jean December 20, 2008 at 11:17 am #

    This is a great one! Funny about the truck. Ooops.

  3. scooper December 20, 2008 at 10:58 pm #

    ewokallie: Yep, it’s a goodie!
    Carolyn Jean: I know. Isn’t it weird how certain things stick in the mind?

  4. Literary Feline December 23, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    This is definitely my favorite in the series. I really came to like Eric in this one. I’m still not sure how I feel about the TV show’s Eric though.

  5. scooper December 23, 2008 at 7:23 pm #

    Literary Feline: Eric is the shit! I so like him, well when he isn’t looking out for himself…

  6. Steph January 1, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    I just started Dead to the World, and was so annoyed by the truck thing – and you’re still off a bit on that one…in previous books Jason’s truck had aqua and pink swirls, and this one it’s pink and purple flames. Also, it says that Jason gave her the thermometer for Christmas, though in Club Dead it says he gave it to her for her birthday.

  7. scooper January 3, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    LOL! It’s really the little things that can get under your skin, isn’t it?

  8. Chris January 6, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Oh yeah – this is probably the Sookie book I’ve reread the most because of how Eric is portrayed.

  9. scooper January 6, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    Chris: Do you watch the show? What do you think about that Eric?

    What do you think is going to happen in the series now that Quinn is gone and everyone knows how much of an ass Bill is.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review: Dead to the World, Charlaine Harris | Racy Romance Reviews - January 9, 2009

    […] Scooperspeaks.com, positive […]

  2. Charlaine Harris – Dead to the World « Fyrefly’s Book Blog - October 17, 2009

    […] Bookworm, The Novel World, One Literature Nut, Racy Romance Reviews, Reading Comes from Writing, Scooper Speaks, Ulat Buku in the City Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

