From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

23 Dec

fromdeadtoworseharrisFavorite Lines: “Sitting here on your bed, smelling your scent,” he said in a voice so low I had to strain to hear it. “Sookie…I remember everything.” (p. 215)

Louisiana vampires were weakened by Hurricane Katrina and the attack at the vampire summit. Their numbers are down, their finances diminished and their queen out of commission.

The werewolf community is divided after several pack members are murdered and suspicion falls upon the pack leader.

As a friend to the vampires and werecreatures, Sookie Stackhouse, is very aware of the changes wracking the community around her. Despite this she can’t help but wonder about her almost boyfriend, Quinn. He was badly injured in the attack at the vampire summit and she hasn’t seen or heard from him in the month that has passed.

From Dead to Worse features most of the characters we’ve met in the series. Alcide the werewolf, Bill, Eric, Pam and other vampires, the Hotshot were panthers, Sam, Tara, Quinn, ect…all make an appearance that leads to betrayal, remembrances, attempts at reconciliation and truces.

Sookie’s heritage is a big topic in this book. We learn why she’s so attractive to the supernatural men and it’s a little different from what Bill said in the beginning. (You know that the more vampire blood she drank the more appealing the supernatural men would find her.)

I was really disappointed in Quinn too. After the last couple of books, it seemed like they were making a little headway, but obviously I was wrong. I’m also waiting for Quinn’s murderous actions to come to light. They will, I’m sure. I just don’t know when.

How about checking out what SF Site, Stusplace, All About, Karissa’s Reading, or Charlotte’s Web of Books thought about From Dead to Worse.

10 Responses to “From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris”

  1. silvergull December 23, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    It seems like a positioning book – getting her ready to launch off in the right direction in the next book.

    I have a weakness for Charlaine Harris’ books. The Ily Bard mystery series is also excellent.

  2. Literary Feline December 23, 2008 at 1:01 pm #

    It was really interesting getting to know more about Sookie’s family history, wasn’t it? I was disappointed about Quinn too-I had so much hope for him, but not so much anymore. Jason got on my last nerve in this one. Great review!

  3. Allie December 23, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    Good quote! I’m always a sucker for the Erics and Spikes of the world. Te-he!

  4. scooper December 23, 2008 at 7:19 pm #

    Silvergull: I agree. I’m hoping that it pushes back into the vampire world. I’ve never tried that series. You recommend them, huh? I’ll have to read up on them.

    Literary Feline: I was shocked about her history. I never even considered that she might have fairy blood. *smacks forehead* Thanks. 🙂

    Allie: I’ve got a thing for Eric now. Oh, to be Sookie Stackhouse when she’s not getting the crap beat out of her.

  5. Renee December 24, 2008 at 3:39 am #

    I love that quote! I just wanted to jump up and down when he tells her that. It felt like a long time coming.

    Yeah, eventhough I love Eric, I couldn’t help having some hopes for Quinn. I’m a sucker for were-cats. 😛

    Have you read the exerpt for Dead and Gone on CH’s site? It’s really good!

  6. scooper December 24, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    Renee: Me, too. I was a chearing fool. *grin* I read the excerpt and was like, “I can’t go get it today?”

    Stupid Quinn, it’s just like a man to get you interested then do something stupid.

  7. nicole March 13, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    i love you books they are awesome. but i wonder if sookie ever gets back together with bill, because it wasnt his fault and he tried to explain AND apologize.

  8. nicole March 13, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    what happened to Quinn?

  9. nicole March 13, 2009 at 4:47 pm #

    if you can email me at Gabbyberger@yahoo.com and talk about it. that would be AWESOME!!!!!

  10. scooper March 13, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

    Nicole: See I know that he was sent there, but I still blame him and don’t trust him. I can’t tell you here, but I’m emailing you now, before I head out for dinner.

Leave a Reply

