How important

31 Dec

is Google ranking to you? At one point my Google rank was 5. Today I looked and my Google ranking had dropped to 2. So, I did what most people do. I read up on how Google comes up with their rankings. The first item is pretty logical. Get people to link to you and in return link to other people.

The next one is to use specific words repeatedly. So instead of just saying the title of the book one time, I should say it every time and not replace it with words like: it or the book. I refuse to make my blog posts a pain to read and won’t be following their advise, but I want my rank to go up.

What can I do? What do you do? Does Google ranking really matter? What are your thoughts on this?

18 Responses to “How important”

  1. Carolyn Jean December 31, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    Hold on, this is something I don’t even know about. Maybe I shouldn’t. But now I’m curious. Personally, I can get a bit obsessed with my stats.

  2. scooper December 31, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    Carolyn Jean: I use a Google toolbar and on it is a little index that shows the importance of each webpage. I hate it, but I really watch it. Now, I’m aggravated that my ranking has dropped so low and have no idea what to do.

  3. Carolyn Jean December 31, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    Well, that sounds like a toy I totally don’t need to look into. You know, do you use statcounter? That gives you tons of information!

  4. scooper December 31, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    I don’t know what that is. I’m kinda scared to know, because then I start trying to think of ways to improve. So…what is it?

  5. Carolyn Jean December 31, 2008 at 8:30 pm #

    It gives you all sorts of rich information about visits and visitors and behavior, referring links. Totally fascinating! the summary page and recent pageloads in particular.
    statcounter.com

  6. Susan Helene Gottfried December 31, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    I love my stat counter, Scoop.

    As for Google rankings, the only way in which they matter is for Google searches. The higher your ranking, the higher you are ranked in a search. That’s all. Is it necessary? No.

    I’d put more emphasis on Alexa rankings but even those can be fudged.

    Drop me an e-mail if you need some explanations!

  7. Kimberly Swan December 31, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    I didn’t realize they did rankings. I would have taken it as 2nd, rather than 5th in where it comes up in a search. 😦

  8. Leslie January 1, 2009 at 1:23 am #

    I didn’t know about this either. Heck, I’m just happy when someone comments on my posts. lol

  9. scooper January 1, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    When I first found it I had to look it up to understand what it meant. Now, I wish I never heard of it, because I really my rank to be higher.

  10. scooper January 1, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    Amen!

  11. Holly January 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Scoop,
    I don’t think the Google ranking is that important at all. It’s way too inaccurate. There’s just no way to ensure that your ranking is truly correct.

    I agree with CJ that stat counters are much more reliable (and fun..and addicting). I like activemeter.com and sitemeter.com, too. All three (including the one CJ mentioned) are good, but beware..you can get sucked into them.

  12. Carolyn Jean January 1, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    Did you go for it yet? You’ll have to post back and let us know about your life as a sad addict.

  13. scooper January 3, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    Holly: It’s just a let down to watch that little bar go down. I’m a loser. *wailing* No, but really, thanks. I had no idea how other bloggers felt about it or that it was so inaccurate.

  14. scooper January 3, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Carolyn Jean: Yep, it’s begun. I don’t really understand it all yet, but everyday I go looking at both the website and the blog. Thanks for the new addiction. *grin*

  15. Holly January 4, 2009 at 12:16 am #

    I totally understand. I used to be obsessed with our GRank, too, but after awhile I realized it really has nothing to do with anything. It’s mostly just random.

    The stat counter on the other hand….

    🙂

  16. scooper January 4, 2009 at 2:22 am #

    What have you guys done to me?????

  17. SciFiGuy January 5, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    Hi Scooper I missed this post. You should get yourself a Google Analytics account to measure your site performance. It’s free and it gives you absolutely amazing information. Email me if you are interested and I can help out. And yes ranking is important. It contributes to how high up on the results pages your blog pages will appear when someone searches a topic.

  18. scooper January 6, 2009 at 12:28 am #

    SciFiGuy: I’m going to check it out. So how do you keep your rating up?

Leave a Reply

