Author’s beliefs

2 Feb

I received a heads up email from a reader about an author expressing her views on homosexuality and other things. I don’t think that people should hide their beliefs, but I’m not sure how I feel about going to an author’s site and reading their views on hot issues like homosexuality. Here’s a link to what I read. Scroll down the page and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

I guess what it does is serve as a conversation starter. Do you feel it’s appropriate for authors to put their believes on their website? Yes or no, and why. Me?

I believe that everyone has a right to their opinion. Just as I have the right to disagree with them and use their belief system as a basis to buy (or not buy) their books.

9 Responses to “Author’s beliefs”

  1. Amie Stuart February 2, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    I totally agree with authors being able to state their beliefs. They are, after all, theirs and it’s a free country.

    For instance, I believe that women have the right to feel sexually confident (and also feel beautiful regardless of their size), and with that in mind, I try to write about women who ARE sexually confident. Some of them are bisexuals; some are not. What consenting adults do is their business just like what books I buy are mine 😀

    Personally, I don’t agree w/the author that being gay is a choice..and maybe even an addictive one. But hey, that’s my opinion and I’m entitled to it. 😀

  2. Alice Evans February 2, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    I think they can write whatever they want to on their site, but they better expect the outcome.. whatever it may be.

  3. Meljean February 3, 2009 at 12:10 am #

    “I believe that everyone has a right to their opinion. Just as I have the right to disagree with them and use their belief system as a basis to buy (or not buy) their books.”

    That sums it up for me. An author can put whatever opinion they like on their site, but I don’t think they should cry foul if someone disagrees with them and decides not to support the author. To me, it’s that simple.

  4. Rosie February 3, 2009 at 12:38 am #

    First, “holy cow!” I read the page you linked to. Secondly, I’m on the same page with everyone else. I’ll defend anyone’s (authors included) right to have their say on their own site/blog. However, everything has consequences. We all have to be prepared to deal with them when we put our opinion out there.

  5. Has February 3, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    I agree with what everyone has said as well. And its not so much about her conservative beliefs – anyone should rightly believe in anything they strongly believe in and has the right to post it on their site/blogs. But what made me uncomfortable was her linking sexuality to abuse and other stupid stuff she stated. To me that was pretty ignorant and also intolerant. There was a case here in the UK where the England coach made a comment about reincarnation and disability- that people who were disabled was punished because they committed evil deeds in a past life. I am disabled and that totally peed me off and reading something like that just hit my hot button and I bought a book of hers. If I have known I would never have picked it up because of it.

    I know that the whole separation of art and the artist thing shouldnt be a factor- but as an author in a way shes a public figure and she contradicted herself by stating she wont go into her views about homosexuality but PUBLICLY goes on about it for two paragraphs and hinting about how they can be ‘cured’.
    And another thing I hope she doesnt get a huge backlash about this but she is going to get a lot of flack because of those comments and she cant be that naive due to having these views.

    I just think shes missed the basic tenant of Christianity and that is love and acceptance. And I find it ironic she writes in a genre whose main theme is about prejudice and being the outsider – shes pretty prejudiced about changing one’s sexuality. Sorry if this is long winded but that is my 2 pence worth :S

  6. scooper February 3, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    Amie, Alice and Meljean: That is exactly what I think. I don’t have to agree with them and I don’t have to support them. But that said, if I feel like an author goes too far off (like Tom Cruise on the Today show) I won’t have anything to do with them again.

    Rosie: You said it all.

    Has: I don’t agree with her and when I read the comments I didn’t know how to respond. I was taken aback. Now if I felt that she were a Patricia Briggs I’d prob. keep reading her, but since I have no attachment to her work I won’t be rushing out to buy her next book. BTW, I was like WTF when I read the paragraph about her not putting her beliefs out there and then following it with her views (that seemed to go on and on).

    And I want people to be able to talk when they come here, so feel free to comment all you want for as long as you want. As long as you don’t attack anyone it’s all good. 🙂

  7. Louise February 3, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    “That sums it up for me. An author can put whatever opinion they like on their site, but I don’t think they should cry foul if someone disagrees with them and decides not to support the author. To me, it’s that simple.”

    Ditto!

    I’ve been discussing this with Has, and for me if an artist blogs about their personal beliefs for all to see and I find it very offensive and ignorant, then yeah! I’m not going to support the author or artist in question. My prerogative and my money!

    When the author in question tells people to take a poll to prove that the unadvertised truth of homosexuality is because it stems from sexual abuse and broken homes….

    Heck No!! This author is on my ‘Never to buy list in a million years!’

  8. LesleyW February 6, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    I agree with what the others have said. She or any other author is perfectly within their rights to put whatever they want on their site.

    However, I’m also at liberty not to buy their books. To be honest, if I had been interested in this author reading that sort of thing on their website would put me right off them.

  9. Carolyn Jean February 15, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    Yikes!!! I echo the above. I know some people think this way, but it’s still shocking to see it.

Leave a Reply

