Bad to the Bone by Jeri Smith-Ready

7 Apr

Favorite lines: “Sometimes in the middle of the night,” he says, “when I’m in the studio, a song will remind me of you. One line of lyrics, or even just a riff that travels up my spine the way your fingers do. And suddenly I’ll miss the way your skin smells in all the hidden places. I’ll miss the way you sigh when I slide inside you, and the way your eyelashes flutter. Or I’ll just miss the way you laugh at one of my stupid jokes. And sometimes this happens in the middle of the day when I’m at the station, and I know you’re upstairs in the office, and I could walk up and see you in less than a minute.”

I somehow find my voice. “Why don’t you?”

His gaze meets mine, stealing what’s left of my breath. “Because I want you  to miss me, too.” (ARC p. 307-8)

badtothebonesmithready

Con artist Ciara Griffin has found a new life as the mascot for the DJs at 94.3 WVMP. On paper she’s the owner Elizabeth,

but in reality she’s just a woman falling in love with a vampire while trying to survive all the machinations that come with the undead. If it isn’t danger coming from a vampire, then it’s danger aimed towards one, and seeing that Ciara works with the undead…well you get the point.

On Halloween, it all begins when a WVMP broadcast is interrupted by an anti-vampire sermon. The broadcast pirating is soon connected to a group of occult hating people determined to put women in second place, and unfortunately for the station a reporter for Rolling Stone is sniffing around for an exclusive into the ‘gimmick’ about vampire DJs. The investigation brings up the past, and introduces Ciara to necrozoology Dexter.

Ms. Smith-Ready‘s next urban fantasy installment in the WVMP Radio Series, Bad to the Bone, picks up shortly after Wicked Games ends. Interest in the independent radio station is starting to wane and while it attempts to resuscitate its slumping numbers, death threats from a secretive religious group arrive. There’s never a good time to face a possible death, but the timing is especially bad because a reporter is digging for dirt on the DJs. This sets the story up and pulls it along as the characters evolve emotionally and secrets unravel.

Most of the characters have emotional issues, but Ciara and Shane had the most. Both of their problems stem from their parents. Shane looks into his feelings surrounding being Catholic and a vampire, and giving up his family. And Ciara has to face emotions, something foreign to the former con artist. Ms. Smith-Ready did an excellent job of showing the many thoughts that might go through a woman’s mind as she considers sharing her life with someone. The good and the bad parts of a relationship with a vampire are exposed as Ciara faces life altering decisions.

Bad to the Bone is told in first person, present tense, putting the focus on Ciara. But I think the vampiric, dog Dexter stole all of the scenes he was in. I am not an animal lover, but he sounds like the perfect dog…okay, it is kind of gross that he only drinks blood, but every animal has a flaw.

The only thing that bothered me about Bad to the Bone was how fast a couple of characters and their relationships seemed

to end. We spend a good amount of time with them only to see something major happen and stop the development of both.

I can’t say I’m disappointed with Bad to the Bone in any way. Not after reading about a bargain with the devil, the secrets only blood can tell, and the set up for the next book in the series.

Bad to the Bone will be released May 19, 2009.


4 Responses to “Bad to the Bone by Jeri Smith-Ready”

  1. Rosie April 8, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    Ho-lee crap that’s an awesome quote! It made my stomach do a slow flip. I’ve never read her before. Maybe I should?

  2. scooper April 9, 2009 at 5:59 am #

    Hey, Rosie. That def. is the best quote in the book. I like Smith-Ready, but keep in mind that this is an urban fantasy story about vampires. It’s not a romance novel even though about 50% of the story is focused on Ciara and Shane. This story is also the second book in a series that doesn’t stand alone.

  3. Carolyn Jean April 9, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    I agree, that quote blew me away! So, where is the review? I am confused. I couldn’t find the link to follow.

  4. scooper April 9, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    Carolyn Jean: I have issues. Sorry. The link is now posted. I’ve started putting reviews on my website. Sorry for the confusion.

Leave a Reply

