Review: Blood Heat by Maria Lima

19 Oct

Blood Heat by Maria Lima
Mass market: $7.99
Pocket (October 2010)
ISBN: 978-1-4391-6777-9

Favorite Line: “For the next couple of hours, the only nonhuman on my mind was my vampire.” (p. 181)

Texas is heating up. . . .The summer heat wave that’s hit Rio Seco, Texas, has even the vampires complaining, but now that Keira—the Kelly Heir—is home from Vancouver, the weather isn’t the only thing too hot to handle. Keira should be setting up her court and planning the big reception at which she and her consort, vampire ruler Adam Walker, will receive the magical leaders from the local area, but pomp and circumstance just aren’t Keira’s thing, especially not with trouble smoldering in her domain.

A werewolf couple has mysteriously gone missing from a local pack, and when Keira is asked by their leader to investigate, she finds that some dissatisfied neighbors may have been taking, well, strong action against the wer community—action that could be repeated and could involve Keira and those she loves. With the reception looming and danger fast blazing out of control, the pressure is on Keira to keep Texas safe for supernaturals. Sometimes, it’s just not that great to be Heir. . . .–Amazon

Blood Heat is book four in Maria Lima’s Blood Lines series and will be released Oct. 26, 2010. Do not attempt to read it until you have read Matters of the Blood, Blood Bargain and Blood Kin.

The story picks up 3 months after the events in Blood Kin. Keira has been training to be the Kelly heir and has returned to Rio Seco to greet the area’s magical leaders, officially name her protectors and unite her brothers and cousin together in a blood bond (similar to marriage). The only thing missing from her life is her best friend, Beatriz Ruiz. That will be rectified in this installment of Blood Lines.

At first I felt a little “ho-hum” about the story. It took me a few chapters to get sucked in, but she caught me at with Friday night lights. Let me first say I’m not a fan of football. However, Lima has done an excellent job reminding me of all the fun I had in high school at football games by setting up a meeting between Keira and a local pack’s fenrir (leader) at a football game. It brought back ghosts of the past and was slightly embarrassing to me, but not to Keira. As I giggled, I wondered where the story would go. I wasn’t disappointed.

Things only got better. The various settings were vividly described. And the wonderful plot lines, well they gave me enough string to hang myself over and over again as I incorrectly guessed who would be attacked and how the attack will occur. Just when I thought “ah ha” I had to backtrack because I was way off base.

But the best part of the story (as always) was the final chapter. Lima has a way of ending stories that makes you salivate for the next installment. She is the queen of “Oh no she didn’t” and I can’t get enough of her stories.

Around the blogosphere:

Amberkatze’s Book Blog

Leave a Reply

