Review: Play of Passion by Nalini Singh

17 Nov

Play of Passion by Nalini Singh
Mass market: $7.99
Berkley (November 2010)
ISBN: 978-0-425-23779-3

Favorite Line: “It gutted Andrew, it fucking eviscerated him, to see Indigo laughing with another man, a man who had no concept of the true value of the woman beside him.” (p. 34)

Andrew “Drew” Kincaid is the tracker for the SnowDancer pack. His position places him slightly outside of the pack structure and while it’s never been a problem before, it is now that he has set his eyes on Indigo Riviere.

Indigo Riviere is a Lieutenant for the SnowDancer pack. She is attracted by Andrew, but because he is outside of the pack structure there is no proof that he is more dominant than her. Not to mention the age gap that separates them.

Play of Passion is book nine in Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changling series. Like previous books, it builds upon the information given in the previous books so if you aren’t firmly entrenched in the Psy/Changling world read books 1 to 8 before attempting to read this story.

This is clearly a romance novel as the focus is placed upon a couple and their relationship. It’s filled with explosive passion that is constantly interrupted by Indigo’s insecurities. Insecurities I don’t (for the most part) share.

One of the biggest problems in Indigo’s mind is Drew’s status in the pact. She views him as being less dominant. I think he is equal to her, but his wolf allows him to give her wolf what it needs: control.

My only issue with the book is petty. Yep, there it is. I’m a petty nit picker. I hate the age gap. I realize the cougar trend is at its peak and I’ve got no problem with women dating younger men. However, I can’t stand the idea of a younger man being my hero. But once Singh stopped mentioning the age difference I was able to forget shove it to the back of my mind.

Overall, Play of Passion is not my favorite book in the series, but it is a solid addition. I’m glad I bought it and will happily place it on my bookshelf with the rest of the series. Now if only book 10 would come out…

Want to know what others are thinking about Play of Passion?
Lurve ala Mode
The Book Pushers
Fiction Vixen
The Good, The Bad and The Unread

One Response to “Review: Play of Passion by Nalini Singh”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME - November 18, 2010

    […] Scooper Speaks by scooper – “Review: Play of Passion by Nalini Singh“ […]

Leave a Reply

