Cookin’ with Scooper: Dump Cake

20 Nov

As a kid there were only a few places I was allowed to spend the night; my uncle’s house was one of those places. His wife was not a cook, but one thing she made often was cherry dump cake. Lately I’ve been fantasizing thinking about it. Often. I’ve mentioned it to a few people and get the same blank reaction. (Cue chirping crickets.) Even my mother doesn’t remember it. (?)

So, I’ve brushed up on my dump cake making skills via the Pioneer Woman. You do know the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, right? No, well let me help you. She is pure awesomeness. She writes cookbooks, takes photos and homeschools her four kids. In February 2011, she will release another book–The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels–A Love Story. Enough of my gushing and on to my generic super simple recipe.

The ingredients: Cake mix (yellow is best), margarine or butter and pie filling. 

How to make it: Peel the paper off of empty tin cans. Fill each can half way with pie filling and the other half with cake mix. Top with a dollop of butter.

Place the filled cans on a cookie sheet and bake at 375° for about an hour. After 20 mins. poke the top with a knife to help the pie filling bake up through the cake mix. Let set for 10 mins., then dump it on a plate. Add whipped cream and eat.

2 Responses to “Cookin’ with Scooper: Dump Cake”

  1. J-9 November 23, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I have never heard of this before, but it sounds fun and tasty all at the same time. If I had kids I would make this for them.

    Oh this is my first time at your site and I really like it.

    Cheers

    http://j9books.blogspot.com/

  2. scooper November 24, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    Thanks for popping over. I just saw your site and will make sure I add it to my blogroll. My kids enjoyed making the dump cake, but they liked eating out of a tin can like hobos even better. 🙂 Hope you come back soon!

Leave a Reply

