Review: Heaven’s Spite by Lilith Saintcrow

30 Nov

Heaven’s Spite by Lilith Saintcrow
Mass Market: $7.99
Orbit (November 2010)
ISBN: 978-0-316-07417-9

Favorite Line: “A merry, Christmas-like sound, but if you knew the real story behind Santa Claus you’d probably never want to hear sleigh bells again.” (p. 245)

Dead bodies are turning up all over Jill Kismet’s city. It seems like the norm, except her pager won’t stop buzzing and the hellbreed keep coming at her. And Perry has a gift for her, a gift which makes her quest for vengeance burn brighter than it ever has before.

Heaven’s Spite is book five in the Jill Kissmet series written by Lilith Saintcrow. I picked up the series because I loved the Dante Valentine series. (Psst…Those five books, Dante Valentine, have been compiled into a single volume which goes on sale March 2011.) I don’t like this series as much as Dante’s, but that hasn’t stopped me from buying and reading each book. Heaven’s Spite is, hands down, the best book in the series.

Jill is kept moving from the opening page until the final page of the book. She has little time to consciously think about her decisions. She simply reacts. That can be dangerous when you’re fighting for your soul.

I love a book which makes me care so much that I become emotionally involved with the situation. This book did it for me. At moments I held my breath not knowing what was going to come. But it’s the fact that I bawled like a baby which makes this a keeper for me. Is there really anything else I need to say?

Books in the Series What others think about Heaven’s Spite:
Night Shift A Great Read
Hunter’s Prayer Liz’s Book Buzz
Redemption Alley Daily ebook Reviews
Flesh Circus
Angel Town (not yet released) Final book in the series.
2 Responses to “Review: Heaven’s Spite by Lilith Saintcrow”

  1. janicu November 30, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    *gasp*, thanks for the info on the omnibus. I think I’ll probably hold off on this series and then read that. Saintcrow is an author I like but have been bad about keeping up with. I STILL need to finish her Dante Valentine series. Ahh, so many books in the TBR.

  2. scooper November 30, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Hey Janicu. I had to revise my review. The omnibus will be the Dante Valentine series. I’ve got all the individual books, but I’m buying this book too. I really liked it. I hope in the future the Kismet series will be compiled and sold as one book.

Leave a Reply

