Review: Barely Bewitched by Kimberly Frost

11 Dec

Barely Bewitched by Kimberly Frost
Trade: $14.00
Berkley (September 2009)
ISBN: 978-0- 425-22961-3

Favorite Lines: “Though Bryn never made a sound, I knew the moment he walked up behind me. I knew it because Zach went as still as Mercutio does when he sees a lizard he’s going to make short work of.” (p. 13)

Only a week has passed since Tammy Jo discovered she wasn’t a magical dud in a family of witches. Things have calmed down, but Tammy Jo is still unemployed and hasn’t heard from her ex-husband Zach since he was introduced to supernatural creatures.

Just when Tammy Jo has a plan to get her life back on track, she receives a letter from the Department of Justice, World Association of Magic. According to the letter she has a week to train before she is tested on her magical skills. If she refuses or fails she will be terminated or be incarcerated. The association has sent a wizard and a warlock to train her.

Kimberly Frost’s second book in the Southern Witch series, Barely Bewitched is a pleasant addition to a series I’ve thoroughly come to enjoy. Tammy Jo is a regular woman with money issues, well if you consider having access to jacked up magic as normal. What’s not normal is her attraction and connection to two very hot men in the small town of Duvall, Texas.

When I read Would-Be Witch I didn’t really get the love triangle aspect of the story. Tammy Jo’s first husband doesn’t know about magic. How can he really be part of her life when he isn’t privy to many aspects of it? Bryn is a strong, rich, semi-selfish wizard. How can he seriously help a mixed-up witch? Barely Bewitched answered my questions and managed to confuse me even more. Enough so that I understand how a love triangle can exist.

Frost does an excellent job of dangling a carrot down the “say no to Zach” and “say no to Bryn” highways, but then she goes and makes me want to say “Oh, yeah” to both of them. I wish Tammy Jo could keep one man at one house and the other at another house, and then go back and forth between them when ever they piss her off. But neither male character is the type to share, and I’d lose all respect for her.

I can’t believe I missed out on this short series for so long. But I can’t say I regret it. I don’t like waiting for books to come out. I don’t have the patience for it. But now I’m sad. Frost is only contracted for three books in the series. Booooo. Hisss. Boooo. Hisss. (I want more damn it!) So I’m expecting something pretty spectacular in the next book, Halfway Hexed, which will be released in February 2011.

I don’t know why this series hasn’t gotten more attention.

Books in the Series What others think about Barely Bewitched:
Would-Be Witch Lou Reads
Barely Bewitched Wicked Lil Pixie
Halfway Hexed (not yet released) 

 

Fantasy Literature

2 Responses to “Review: Barely Bewitched by Kimberly Frost”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review: Hafway Hexed by Kimberly Frost « Scooper Speaks - March 18, 2011

    […] I’m pleased with Halfway Hexed. It will join the previous two books (Would-Be Witch and Barely Bewitched) in the series on my keeper shelf. I still would recommend the partial series to people looking for […]

  2. Review: Halfway Hexed by Kimberly Frost « Scooper Speaks - July 11, 2011

    […] I’m pleased with Halfway Hexed. It will join the previous two books (Would-Be Witch and Barely Bewitched) in the series on my keeper shelf. I still would recommend the partial series to people looking for […]

Leave a Reply

