The Battle of my Year: nook vs. paper

23 Feb

I’ve had my nook for about a week now and so far in the battle of nook vs. paper, paper is winning. Sure I like reading the nook when I’m out and about (like the skating rink over the weekend), but my preference is paper books. I’m enjoying the convenience of instantly downloading books, but something is missing. I can’t put my finger on it. I just need to hold a real book.

At one point in my life I was all about convenience. Now as I get older I find myself wanting quality. Quality that can be found in a paper book instead of an electronic copy lacking a cover. Or an e-book with words that are connected (thatare) and I have to separate in my mind. It’s not really that big of an issue, but it’s not quality. It’s great for the books I don’t want to keep. Not so great for those that I’ll need to purchase again to decorate my bookshelf. Ahhhhhh!!!!!

So the debate runs on in my mind…to ebook or not to ebook. Right now, not to ebook is kickin’ ebooks ass.

4 Responses to “The Battle of my Year: nook vs. paper”

  1. Holly February 23, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    1) to avoid the connectedwords issue, try converting the books via calibre to epub before loading (I assume this is on sideloaded books and not ones downloaded directly from B&N).

    2) I go in spurts. I’ll read in nothing but E for months, then get frustrated and need a print book. It’s weird, but I understand.

  2. scooper February 24, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Hey Holly! I used Calibre and still have theproblem. It’s horrific. but it’s enough to irritate me. How would you feel if there were no printed books?

  3. rb February 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    So funny that you just posted this. I’m battling against buying an e-reader myself but am totally on the tip of how I buy so many books that I wind up not wanting to keep. Also, I’m very about immediate satisfaction so instant downloading is an exciting idea.

    Two of my friends recently got Kindles and I HATED playing around with them. Much like you, I couldn’t put my finger on why I was so averse–maybe just that the Kindle is not very intuitive… but more than that, it just felt… wrong. Haven’t checked out a Nook or any other device and am not convinced I’ll get one until they stop printing books (which may be not far in the future. Sigh. Sad face.).

    Anywho, just wanted to say this was a super timely post for me and say I’m right there with you. Please let us know if you suddenly fall in love with the Nook…

    Happy reading,
    rb

  4. scooper February 28, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    rb: I like the nook because it is a touch screen instead of having a keypad. I feel like I’m looking at paper when I read it. You can organize your books on it, but I prefer looking at my books on the shelf. It has its purposes (draining me of money as I realize at 1 a.m. that I want to re-read a book I read in 2000.). I’m an instant satisfaction kind of girl too. Who knows where that came from…

Leave a Reply

