I Read It, but I’m not Reviewing It

1 Mar

Yeah, that describes a ton of books. While I love telling people what I think about books, there are some books that I keep to myself. Often they are my secret joys. You know the books that fill juicy little holes inside of you that you would never critique. Or they are books that irked me because the author went in a direction that turns me off. It’s not that the writing is poor, it is that the plot no longer interests me.

I don’t think it is fair to bash a book because I don’t like the creative angle it took. That doesn’t mean I don’t it just means sometimes I recognize it wouldn’t be fair to give a bad review based on my personal hangups. Sure, I’m fickle. I’m a reader.

I spend hundreds of dollars every year on my book addiction and it only makes sense that I feel invested in them. (God, I don’t ever want to know an exact dollar amount on money I spend buying books.) But this month in particular seems to be filled with books that I read, some of which I enjoyed, but will not be writing a review of. Here are a couple of them:

Richelle Mead’s Iron Crowned (Pissed me off so bad)
Kim Harrison’s Pale Demon (Really enjoyed)
A.M.Dellamonica’s Indigo Springs (Barely finished chapter 1. DNF)

So what about you? What have you read that you hated, loved, DNF or just don’t want to review?

2 Responses to “I Read It, but I’m not Reviewing It”

  1. janicu March 2, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Aw, but I want to know about this stuff! Mm, I don’t mind if a reviewer doesn’t like a creative angle as long as they explain why and acknowledge a personal bias if there is one. If it’s just “I hated the vampire in this story!” without saying “A vampire killed my dog and now all vampires are my enemy”, or “because he wore a cape. Pet peeve: vampires who dress cheesy”, I have nothing to go on.

    I usually review everything I read, unless I don’t think it goes with the blog. Like I may read a middle grade book or an art book and think… mm, this doesn’t go with the rest of the reviews.

  2. J9 March 4, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Hi Scooper,
    I tend to review every book I read (now at least). I think that the only books that I would not review now, are ones where it seems like everyone has reviewed them and then I question whether I need to add my review to the mix as well.

    I know what you mean about not liking a book, yet I still feel obligated to review, just for the fact to let people know not to read it who have similar tastes to me. I try to point out in my reviews some good things, and who i think would actually enjoy the book. I mean the whole review process is really just preference based, just because I did not like or enjoy something does not mean that other will too.

    As for good books, I’m all about share the wealth. I think everyone is really looking for the next great read, so if i have found one, I want other to know about it.

    Cheers!!!

    http://j9books.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

