Review: River Marked by Patricia Briggs

2 Mar

River Marked by Patricia Briggs
ACE (March 2011)
Hardback: $26.95
ISBN: 978-0-441-01973-1

Favorite Lines: “Someone needs to remember that the runway model look doesn’t even look good on runway models.” (p. 20)

Car mechanic Mercy Thompson has always known there was something different about her, and not just the way she can make a VW engine sit up and beg. Mercy is a shapeshifter, a talent she inherited from her long-gone father. She’s never known any others of her kind. Until now.

An evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River-one that her father’s people may know something about. And to have any hope of surviving, Mercy and her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will need their help…

Actually the blurb on the River Marked’s dust cover is quite different. Like others, I didn’t read any reviews or even the blurb before jumping into the story, so the first few chapters blew me away. (In a good way.) I don’t think there is any better way that Briggs could have started the book. This review is going to be short because it is a ravefest.

The great thing about River Marked is Mercy and Adam are together throughout the entire book. Their interaction and the way they support one another’s decisions is excellent; it is true to the characters we learned to love in the first five books. They are equals in their relationship and as much as Mercy recognizes Adam’s need to care for her, Adam respects Mercy’s need to protect him.

This book is well-balanced. There are equal amounts of action, explanations of Mercy’s history and Mercy and Adam’s relationship. The book is pure entertainment. When I put it down I was completely satisfied and for once I don’t mind waiting the year it will take to get me book seven.

River Marked has it all: vampires, fae and shapeshifters. I think it sets the bar high for other books and I can’t wait to see what else is to come from this world.

4 Responses to “Review: River Marked by Patricia Briggs”

  1. Julie March 2, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I LOVED this book! And you’re right about the beginning. Such a surprise. A wonderful wonderful surprise. I cried a little, I must admit. And I loved the folklore in this book too. And that Adam and Mercy were together the whole time. Loved!

  2. scooper March 2, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Julie: Do you think there is anything else I should have said? Or do you agree that some books are just good enough that there is little you can do to equal the actual hype of reading the book?

  3. Julie March 2, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I find that sometimes people can say too much about a book, especially when they really enjoyed it. You don’t want to spoil it for people and that’s easy to do when your gushing. I think you said the most basic important stuff. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. River Marked by Patricia Briggs | Janicu's Book Blog - June 20, 2011

    […] Borne) – “Even if I did not love as much as the previous book I still loved it” Scooper Speaks – positive The Book Smugglers – 8 (Excellent) Smexy Books – […]

Leave a Reply

