Review: The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton

5 Apr

The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton
Penguin (February 2011)
Trade: $15.00
ISBN: 978-0-425-23881-3

(Hey, this is a shout out to whoever chose this awesome cover art for The Perfect Play. Spectacular!)

Favorite Lines: “And she knew just how to shut him down and get him to run like hell from the restaurant faster than he could run a hundred-yard dash. She hated bringing it up, but there was no choice now.

“I have a fourteen-year-old son, Mick.”” (p. 52)

The last thing event planner Tara Lincoln needs is the jet-set lifestyle of a football pro like Mick Riley; even though their steamy and passionate one-night stand proved that Mick is an all-star-both on the field and in the bedroom.

Tara played the game of love once and lost big, and she doesn’t intend to put herself out there again, especially with a certified heartbreaker. But when Mick sets his mind to win, nothing will stop him. And he has the perfect play in mind to catch this sultry vixen.

I don’t watch sports or movies about sports and I definitely don’t read any books that I think may focus on any aspect of any sport. Prejudice much? Yes, yes I am. But I still picked up a copy of Jaci Burton‘s newest release The Perfect Play. Hot damn, it’s some good shit! It’s also book one in Burton’s Play-by-Play series.

The heroine is a grown, independent mother of a teenage boy. She is gutsy and realistic and exactly the kind of heroine I root for. The hero, well crap didn’t you look at the cover? He’s the shit! No kids, good job, excellent financial package and he chased an everyday regular mother. She didn’t introduce a woman with kid, then make the kid disappear. The kid isn’t in the room the entire time (duh, how else would they be able to sex each other up?), but he is a key point and character in the story.

I was impressed with the way Burton touches on the single mother’s concern for her child. But I think almost equally enjoyable is the way the issue of a celebrity “settling” for an everyday Jane is brought up. The hero never saw the heroine as being anything less than an equal, but some of the secondary characters did. One in particular really pissed me off. So bad that I don’t want her to ever be happy. I want her to suffer. In hot oil. You hear me, Burton? She’s a piece of work. However, I know you think she deserves redemption so we’ll have to see if I get sucked into her story.

Would I recommend this book to a friend? Yes. It’s an erotic contemporary romance for grown women. It gives credence to the idea that you don’t need to be in your 20’s to find your happily ever after. I also appreciate it more than I thought I would. The older I get, the more enjoy reading about other women in their 30’s. If you haven’t read it yet go pick it up!

The next book in the series is Changing the Game which will be released in August 2011.

 

3 Responses to “Review: The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton”

  1. Marg April 5, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    I really need to get this, if only to stare at the cover for a while!

  2. Sabrina April 5, 2011 at 4:13 am #

    Great review!

    I also enjoyed the book a lot and actually kind of liked the one character who pissed you of. It will be interesting to read her story.

  3. scooper April 5, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Marg: The cover really is delish. 🙂
    Sabrina: Thanks. You liked her! Nooooo!!!!!!!!!!!! lol, I was so mad at her that I started talking to my book. I was all: “You bitch!” Good thing I was home alone.

Leave a Reply

