Recent Books that I didn’t Finish Reading

17 May

Recently I’ve been overwhelmed by several books that I could not force myself to finish reading. This is unusual for me because they are books I’ve bought and was excited to read. Most of the books were urban fantasies that I thought were silly despite the blurb that made the books sound gritty. So here are the DNF books in no particular order.

Right Hand Magic by Nancy Collins: I read about a third of the book before putting it down. I realized the characters meant nothing to me. I like the idea of the story, but the tone is not serious like I thought it would be despite the supernatural mob’s involvement.

Under Wraps by Hannah Jayne: I was irritated with this book before the first chapter ended. It’s a reminder to sample books before buying them. I’d have found out a lot by reading a few reviews as well. The premise of the story was pretty cool. A human working underground with supernatural creatures is enlisted to aid a human detective find out who or what is killing people. But the 12-year-old mentality of the heroine about drove me mad. I couldn’t take it and didn’t force myself to either.

Foxy’s Tale: The Reluctant Vampire Series by Karen Fraunfelder Cantwell and LB Gschwandtner: Oh where to start. I didn’t read very much, but I did flip through the story to make sure my first thought was right. I’m just going to post a few excerpts from the book.

“She puts her hands on her hips and tilts her head back and forth. She just can’t decide. Higher or lower? She’s been at this sign-raising for over thirty minutes now, and she knows these kind men are becoming very annoyed with her.” (p. 6)

“Suddenly Foxy sees her daughter as if she’s looking through a time machine. ” (p. 171)

“He runs on and on, stumbles in the snow, raises himself up again, stumbles forward until finally, pelted by snowballs, exhausted, cold and feeling as if he is back in Prussia all over again, after all these years and all the searching and all the deals and all the disappointments, up from his soul and out of his mouth a wail erupts like the howl of a lonely wolf that’s been abandoned by its pack.” (p. 509)

So, what have you started and not finished lately?

Leave a Reply

