Review: My Dangerous Pleasure by Carolyn Jewel

15 Jun

My Dangerous Pleasure by Carolyn Jewel  (I like cover)
Grand Central Publishing (June 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99
ISBN: 9780446563871
Excerpt: Read chapter 1

Favorite Lines: ” She knew it in her soul. Rasmus Kessler had found out where she lived, and the very last part of her life that belonged to her was about to go to hell.” (p.27 -eArc)

TEMPT THE DARKNESS

Strong-willed and independent, Paisley Nichols is used to taking care of herself. But when an insane mage begins tracking her every move and threatening her at every turn, she has no choice but to put her life in the hands of a demon.

RISK THE PASSION

Burned by betrayal, demon assassin Iskander won’t get too close to anyone. He spends his days serving his warlord and his nights indulging in carnal pleasures . . . and that’s exactly how he likes it. But when a mage wages a wrenching psychic assault on his beautiful tenant Paisley, Iskander must defend her. Under his protection, she will be drawn irresistibly into his life and learn about her own mysterious powers. And not a moment too soon. The mage haunting her isn’t acting alone-and he won’t rest until he destroys both Paisley and Iskander.

My Dangerous Pleasure is book four in Carolyn Jewel’s My Immortal series. I think this is a seriously overlooked series, but I understand that it’s not for everyone. The sex it racy and daunting to those who have issues with sex between people of different species. I think the books are highly entertaining and the naughty sex factor adds to the pleasure I find in reading the books.

You don’t need to have read the previous books in the series, but I have. I think having read the books adds to my overall understanding of the character introduced as most of them had major roles in the previous books. Before receiving an ARC of My Dangerous Pleasure I had been feining for the book in a major way. I liked the crazy which was Iskander as I met him in book one. He’s still a huge, bad boy demon, but he’s so much more. He’s the reformed, whorish-alpha you dream of having all to yourself and the friend who will take excellent care of your heart.

Paisley is a normal girl who refuses to allow a psycho stalker the power to ruin her life. She takes a leap of faith by accepting Iskander’s offer of assistance and finds first a friend and later a romantic partner. I love that she was so accepting of the world she fell into. She didn’t ask to be part of the paranormal world, but she didn’t whine or bitch about it. She sucked it up and moved on. It’s def. a refreshing change from other paranormal romances I’ve been complaining about lately.

Read it? Yes. If you want a sizzling hot paranormal romance. Personally it’s one of the few series of books that I would love to own signed copies of.  No, if you are squeamish about sexual issues. The entire series so far has a sex scene between the demon hero as a human male and in his demon form. Some people will be turned off.

Leave a Reply

