What Are Your Kids Reading?

29 Jun

I’ll tell you what mine are reading. My 11-year-old enjoys the Dork Diaries. (BTW the website is one of the coolest websites I’ve ever seen. It’s got book trailers, bright colors and is interactive.) Last summer we drove from Indiana to Maryland to visit my best-friend and her family. Before we left she picked out the first book, Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life.

Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

New school. New mean girl. New crush. New diary so I can spill about all of it…

I put a lot of really personal stuff in this diary along with my sketches and doodles.

But, mostly it’s about how TRAUMATIC it was transferring to my new private middle school, Westchester Country Day.

And, how alot of the CCP (Cool, Cute & Popular) kids were really SNOBBY and made my life TOTALLY miserable. People like, oh, I don’t know, maybe…

MACKENZIE HOLLISTER!!

And, it just so happened that I got stuck with a locker right next to hers. I could NOT believe I had such CRAPPY luck. I knew right then and there it was going to be a VERY, VERY long school year :-( !

But before we could make the return trip I had to stop off and pick up the second book in the series, Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl.

Dork Diaries: Tales From a Not-So-Popular Party Girl

Recipe for disaster: 4 parties. Add 2 friends and 1 crush. Divide by 1 mean girl out to RUIN Nikki. Mix well, put fingers over eyes, and CRINGE.

I thought it would NEVER happen, but my life is FINALLY going well for me.

I’m adjusting to my new school and hanging out with my BFFs Chloe and Zoey. And, get this! My crush, Brandon, has asked ME to be his lab partner—a seriously awesome development.

However, when I overhear mean girl Mackenzie bragging that Brandon’s taking HER to the Halloween dance, I’m totally BUMMED and sign-up instead to spend Halloween at a kid’s party with my bratty, little sister, Brianna.

Lucky for me, I find out Mackenzie is lying and my dream of going to the party with Brandon could actually become a reality! But, can I juggle TWO events at the exact same time and survive a wacky assortment of trials, tribulations and disasters?!! HELP!!!

It’s been over a year since book two was released. Book three recently came out and I ordered it for my big girl. It came in the mail addressed to her while I napped and she was so excited. A couple of hours later…the book is finished and she is laughing as she tells me book three, Tales of a Not-So-Talented Pop Star, is the best book in the series.

Dork Diaries: Tales of a Not-So-Talented Pop Star

Nikki’s Road to Stardom Checklist:
Checkbox 1 Diva showdown
Checkbox 2 BFF feud
Question Talented entourage to back up VIP (Very Important Pop Star!)

Just when I was starting to get used to life at my new school, this talent competition could change everything!

That brings us to child number two who is 8-years-old. She reads just about everything she gets her hands on, but there are a few books we are reading together.

The first book we’re reading is an advanced copy of Janitors by Tyler Whitesands which will be realeased in August 2011. We aren’t far into the book yet, but so far the most memorable moment is when the bully touches the hero’s face after using the bathroom without washing his hands.

Have you ever fallen asleep during math class? Are you easily distracted while listening to your English teacher? Do you find yourself completely uninterested in geography? Well, it may not be your fault. The janitors at Welcher Elementary know a secret, and it’s draining all the smarts out of the kids.

Twelve year-old Spencer Zumbro, with the help of his classmate Daisy “Gullible” Gates, must fight with and against a secret, janitorial society that wields wizard-like powers. Who can Spencer and Daisy trust and how will they protect their school and possibly the world? Janitors is book 1 in a new children’s fantasy series by debut novelist Tyler Whitesides. You’ll never look at a mop the same way again.

We are also reading the first book in the Molly Moon series which is written by Georgia Byng. The book is calledMolly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism. You can read the first half of the book by clicking here. I feel so bad for orphan Molly. In the first chapter the girl is forbidden to take a bath for three weeks because she used too much water in her bath, put on toilet scrubbing duty for a week (she has to use her own toothbrush), put on dish washing duty for the night and given a double helping of spoiled fish covered in cheese sauce for dinner. (Psst…the cover is much cooler than it looks here.)

Molly Moon is no ordinary orphan. When she finds a mysterious old book on hypnotism, she discovers she can make people do whatever she wants. But a sinister stranger is watching her every move and he’ll do anything to steal her hypnotic secret…

Well that’s what’s being read at my house. What about your home? What are your kids reading? Do you have any book suggestions you want to share for kids of all ages? Feel free to comment and get the conversation started.

Leave a Reply

