Review: Baby, Come Home by Stephanie Bond

3 Jul

Baby, Come Home by Stephanie Bond
MIRA (June 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99; e-book: $6.99
ISBN: 9780778329947

Favorite Lines: “Kendall had grown from a beautiful boy into a devastatingly handsome man, his shoulders wide and muscled, his skin tanned, his light brown hair streaked by the sun.  He wasn’t quite smiling, wasn’t quite scowling, was, as always, square in the middle of his brothers’ temperaments.  He had the same deep blue eyes as Marcus and Porter, but where Marcus looked stern and Porter, mischievous, Kendall was the calm one.
The cautious one.  The one who couldn’t commit.”

The hardheaded Armstrong brothers are determined to rebuild their tornado-ravaged hometown in the Georgia mountains. They’ve got the means, they’ve got the manpower…what they need are women! So they place an ad in a Northern newspaper and wait for the ladies to arrive.…

Sensible yet sexy middle brother Kendall Armstrong penned that ad himself—but there’s just one woman he really wants to answer the call.…

Civil engineer Amy Bradshaw—Kendall’s ex-fiancée—fled Sweetness years ago, taking a precious souvenir with her. She’s back now…but only on a professional level. Really.

Little does she know that old flames always burn the hottest.…

Baby, Come Home is book two in Stephanie Bond’s Southern romance trilogy. I enjoyed book one Baby, Drive South, and the prequel novella Baby, I’m Yours was alright too. I did not care for Baby, Come Home. I’ve mentioned my dislike for hidden baby stories. I think Holly at Book Binge summed it up pretty good in her rant against Baby, Come Home. But for those of you new to the series know that you can read this book as a stand alone.

The previous book sets up the premise of the story. Three brothers are rebuilding their devastated hometown into a green community. They are using government grants and a deadline is fast approaching.

There are other things happening in in Baby, Come Home in addition to Kendall and Amy’s romance. Those stories were interesting, but my dislike for the heroine was swift and long-lived. It colored every aspect of the book as far as I’m concerned. Amy was pregnant when she left her boyfriend Kendall years ago. He didn’t want to commit and she bailed. She never told him she was pregnant because she didn’t want to be stuck in her hated hometown and she didn’t want to force Kendall to be with her.

Fast forward 12 or 13 years and she’s still a selfish bitch. Yep, I went there. Amy is a true bitch. I understand being the only parent to a child and not wanting to share. But she repeatedly emasculated Kendall in front of her troubled 12-year-old son. She worried about the father-son relationship’s effect on her emotions. She hurt so her answer was to put hurdles in the path of Kendall almost every time he tried to be a father. I couldn’t stand her.

On the other hand, I felt horrible for Kendall. I guess he had an image of Amy as the love of his life. Pair that with his determination to be  a good guy and you get a man who fails to put his foot down to the woman who is attempting to keep him from knowing his child. The woman hadn’t even planned on telling him. Kendall is one of those good to the point of stupidity or self-sacrifice people. I know others began to question his character for even liking the deceitful Amy, but I just put him in the “do-what-it-takes-to-accomplish-you-goal” type of person category.

Baby, Come Home is a character driven romance. The supporting characters were great, but when the main character is a major loser you have an unavoidable obstacle. I didn’t get how people could like her or root for the dysfunctional relationship she was building.

Read or skip? Skip this one and hope that book three is as good as the first book. I want tension in my romances. I don’t expect their relationship to be drama free. However I do expect to like or grow to like both characters. That didn’t happen in Baby, Come Home and I can’t recommend the story.

3 Responses to “Review: Baby, Come Home by Stephanie Bond”

  1. janicu July 4, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Haaa, wow, I’ve never seen a review from you where you were that annoyed by a character. And Holly’s review seems in line with yours. Yep, I’m pretty sure if both of you disliked this one, it is one to skip.

  2. scooper July 4, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Hey girl! How ya doing? Yep I was pretty hot when I finished the book. It could be that I’m the extreme opposite of the heroine. I’m a single mother because my daughter’s father truely wants no part of fatherhood; I see the hurt of never having a father. To see the chance for a child to have a father so selfishly yanked away irked me.

  3. janicu July 4, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Hiya! Not too bad – relaxing during the holiday weekend. 🙂 I don’t think it’s you, I don’t like the hidden baby stories that don’t have a good explanation other than the selfishness of the mother.

Leave a Reply

