Review: Savor the Danger by Lori Foster

18 Jul

Savor the Danger by Lori Foster
Harlequin/HQN Books (June 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99; ebook: $6.99
ISBN: 9780373775828
Favorite Lines: “Of course, Trace, Dare and Jackson were the only mercenaries she knew. And while each of them was different, they were also, in the most basic ways, the same. They were men who didn’t flinch when put to the test, men who, without a single second of hesitation, would protect others with their own lives. They were good men. They were scary men.” (p. 16, egalley)

She may be aloof, and more pretty than gorgeous, but Alani Rivers is the kind of woman a hot-blooded mercenary can’t forget, no matter how hard he tries. So when Jackson Savor wakes up next to the naked, sleeping beauty—with no memory of what happened— he knows he’s been drugged…even if Alani doesn’t.

After she was kidnapped, Alani vowed never to trust another man again. Still, something about this strong, sexy hero with the tender touch makes her want to believe him. As Jackson hunts down a mysterious intruder, he swears he’ll move heaven and earth to keep Alani safe. But what really happened that night? And will the truth bring them closer than they ever thought possible—or put Alani squarely in harm’s way again?

I hate this cover. I know Jackson had gigolo tendencies before falling for Alani, but the cover makes me think “Ewww.”

Savor the Danger is book three in the Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series; it’s a contemporary romance.

Lori Foster has a way of inviting readers into new worlds. Those words are usually ones I’d like to enter and scoop out the hero; Savor the Danger is no exception to that line of thinking. That doesn’t mean I enjoyed every aspect of the book.

The first half of the book was my favorite. I liked watching Jackson stumble to remember what happened with Alani and watching Alani tell her brother and Dare to butt out. Learning why Jackson was  averse to being taken care of took a little getting used to, but with Trace and Dare’s help it was made bearable. It was pretty cool to compare the three men who are so similar, yet so different. I also liked Alani…well I liked her when she wasn’t TSTL. That dumb ass put herself in a bad situation and lost my support. Afterward she even had the audacity to say…

“Don’t you ever speak to me like that again…You shouted at me in front of Marc. You ordered me into the house. You…”

Thankfully this is one of the moments when the hero is able to clearly state

“So the next time someone has cut your electricity and someone else is shooting at us, I’ll try to politely ask you to keep your sweet little ass inside–as I nicely instructed before I left the room–so that my attention won’t be splintered.”

Unfortunately the conversation combines possessive silliness with common sense which irritated the crap out of me. I guess I just didn’t understand why they were both so possessive of such a new relationship. Sure they had the hots for each other for a while, but both showed extreme tendencies toward being possessive. Alani was just childish about it. She would get mad when women in the grocery store checked Jackson out. I wanted to scream “Get a grip.” at her. But the sexual tension, the men in action and romance were wonderful.

The testosterone is high in Savor the Danger and most of the time it put fluttering butterflies in my stomach. I even scarfed down the machismo most of the time. However, at times the manliness became a little annoying. The men are all super alphas. Sometimes it became a bit too thick, like the scenes when all three men gathered together.

Jackson knew Trace still suffered a few moments of panic whenever he remembered how close Priss had come to real harm. He was especially prickly about discussing her with Jackson, since Jackson got to see “the goods” before Trace when he swiped Priss out of the shower–all with altruistic motives.

Savor the Danger is full of sex and danger. It’s a solid book with great secondary characters. Dare and Molly, Trace and Priss and Chris from the previous two books appear in the book. We even get a sneak peek at a possible new couple whose story I’m sure will be excellent. There are several eye rolling moments in Savor the Danger, but I was entertained. I’m not mad I read it and I want more.

Leave a Reply

