Archive | 12:01 am

Review: Resurrection by Boone Brux

25 Jul

Resurrection by Boone Brux
Entagled Publishing (August 2011)
Trade: $16.95; ebook: $7.99
ISBN: 9781937044060
Favorite Lines: The cavernous throne room loomed ahead. He slowed at the edge of the light that spilled from the archway. His stomach threatened to revolt as the pungent smell of rotting meat slapped him. Demons of every shape and size littered the chamber. They were a disgusting lot, fighting and fornicating like wild animals. Much like parasites, they pissed on and ate everything in sight.” (p. 38, egalley)

Protecting humans is the Bringers’ duty. Sending demons to the Shadow World is their pleasure.

In one night, Ravyn’s life plunges from barely tolerable to deadly. Forced to flee the only home she’s ever known, Ravyn stumbles headlong into the clutches of a powerful demon intent on stealing her powers. Unfortunately for him, she has no intention of cooperating.

When Rhys realizes the woman he rescued from the Demon Bane is no mere human, his obligation as a Bringer dictates he protect and train her in the ways of his people. But he’s unprepared for the intense desire he feels for the fiery Ravyn. To surrender to his need may mean her death.

As the Demon Bane threat escalates, igniting terror and chaos across the realm, Rhys and Ravyn must embark on a perilous journey to unite the last of the Bringers–and explore a passion too powerful to ignore.

Boone Brux introduces us to her writing with her debut book Resurrection. The romantic fantasy follows Ravyn and Rhys as they fight to survive demons known as the Bane.

Resurrection is told in the third person bouncing from Ravyn, Rhys, the demon Icarus and Brother Powell’s point of views. It was interesting to read about the different characters. Brother Powell flickers from a constant evil to regretful, and back to greedy. Icarus is shown as a soul stealing demon, but later is shown to be insecure, devious and empathetic. I don’t really know what to think about him. Rhys is frustrating and Ravyn, well…she changed in many ways.

Ravyn is introduced as a convent raised girl with paranormal abilities. Capable of recognizing evilness, Ravyn  knows little of carnal acts and is innocent. Within days that innocence is almost nonexistent. For example, early on she tells Rhys

“I guess I’m a  little nervous. It’s just–I’ve never been completely alone with a man who wasn’t trying to kill me.”

A few pages later she reiterates

“I’ve never been alone with a man.”

By the time I was halfway through the book, the virgin sought out Rhys for sex. Yep, it was good sex which seemed to strip away her inhibitions. Gone was the innocent woman and in her place was a worldly woman. I’m sure it is meant to show Ravyn’s character growth, but it felt like a different person.

The whites of her eyes rounded as he pushed back the covers and stood, his naked body lit by the moon’s glow. She didn’t retreat. There was no place for embarrassment tonight–not with him–not ever.

Overall, Resurrection is the first book in a series. I would have liked it more if the romance had been pared back and given time to evolve. There was so much time away from Rhys and Ravyn that I didn’t feel the romance or sexual tension build. What I felt was the demons’ urgent desire to capture Ravyn and Rhys tension bleed away while in Ravyn’s presence. I felt Ravyn build friendships and her need to be loved. However, I knew she and Rhys would fall in love. I didn’t feel it happen.

Also, when I started reading the book I thought I was reading a historical romance with paranormal tones. I imagined the world as Earth, but I don’t know if that is what Brux intended. The Bringers (demon fighters) are from another plane of existence and we are never told what year or where the book is set. The setting and time didn’t really bother me though.

Biggest issue: Price. Wow…$17 for paper and $8 for ebook. Just wow.

