Review: Knight’s Curse by Karen Duvall

10 Sep

Knight’s Curse by Karen Duvall
LUNA (August 2011)
Trade: $14.95; ebook: $10.99
ISBN:  9780373803408

Favorite Lines: “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but I’d see them coming long before they hurt me. I would hear them, too. Maybe even smell them. My abilities came in handy at times.” (p. 9, egalley)

Orphan.

Crusader.

Angel.

Theif.

 A skilled knife fighter since the age of nine, Chalice knows what it’s like to live life on the edge—precariously balanced between the dark and the light. But the time has come to choose. The evil sorcerer who kidnapped her over a decade ago requires her superhuman senses to steal a precious magical artifact…or she must suffer the consequences.

Desperate to break the curse that enslaves her, Chalice agrees. But it is only with the help of Aydin— her noble warrior-protector—that she will risk venturing beyond the veil to discover the origins of her power. Only for him will she dare to fully embrace her awesome talents. For a deadly duel is at hand, and Chalice alone will have to decide between freedom…and the love of her life.

Knight’s Curse is book one in Karen Duvall’s new urban fantasy series which follows a woman bonded into slavery as a child and the role she is to play in the future. It’s a cool idea and while I liked parts of the book I wasn’t blown away.

This book has angels, mages and demons. It has a secret society of women warriors, slavery and gargoyles. It has dark moments and I thought I’d love it, but I didn’t really care for Chalice and it impacted my overall enjoyment of the story.

Chalice worked my nerves. She is childish, self-centered and wishy-washy. On the other hand I really enjoyed her kinda love interest, Aydin. He is not an open book and he was able to overlook Chalice’s imperfections. However, Chalice and Aydin as a possible couple was confusing. I don’t know what either really, truly liked about the other. Sure they were sexually attracted to one another, but Chalice thought Aydin was in love with another woman and that he was the enemy for most of the book. Despite my disinterest in many of the characters, I did like the gargoyles.

Heck, the best parts of the book revolved around gargoyles. From their creation to the bond Chalice and Aydin had with them, gargoyles carried the weight of the book. We are shown positive and negative views of gargoyles and the bonds between them and humans. The effects of not following through with a bond between human and gargoyle–well let’s just say Chalice was terrified of failing to complete the bonding ritual with good reason.

In the end, the book was okay. It wasn’t spectacular because I didn’t really care for the characters and when the name of the warrior women became known I was tempted to put the book down. I just wasn’t interested. What made me like the book? Duvall was able to surprise me. Out of no where she pulled a major OMG moment out of her hat and it makes me wonder what else she is capable of. I know she has great ideas, my hope is that over time I’ll come to enjoy the characters enough to stick with the series.Duvall has piqued my interest and I will read the next book which will make or break the series for me.

One Response to “Review: Knight’s Curse by Karen Duvall”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review: Darkest Knight by Karen Duvall « Scooper Speaks - April 24, 2012

    […] year Karen Duvall introduced a woman named Chalice in Knight’s Curse. We learned Chalice was a slave and watched her discover her lineage and win freedom. She had help […]

Leave a Reply

