How About a Giveaway?

12 Sep

Giveaway closed.

This month I’ll have been blogging for five years. I posted on Twitter that I wasn’t going to celebrate, but I think I’m going to offer a few giveaways to recognize the milestone.

Up for grabs today is a copy of The Hidden Goddess by M.K. Hobson. The giveaway is open to people with mailing addresses in the U.S. or Canada. I’ll use a random number generator to select a winner at noon on Sept. 17, 2011. To enter, tell me if you are a blogger and how long you’ve been blogging. If you’re not a blogger just tell if you’ve ever considered blogging and why you chose not to.

14 Responses to “How About a Giveaway?”

  1. Bookworm September 12, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    FIVE years?! Congrats are due, so I’m glad you decided to mark the milestone and thanks for a giveaway…

    I’ll celebrate my first year in November and the reason I’ve decided to blog is all those reviews that contained three sentences. I mean really?! Seriously?! Is that all you can tell me?!

    My blog bookworm2bookworm has a little bit of something for everyone, but mostly it’s dedicated to all us bookworms in a search of that new author or new title from an old one, and recently I’ve started interviewing authors and I find what they have to say so thought provoking and entertaining that right now, I’m having so much fun and I sure hope that one day I’ll be celebrating five years like you are 😉

    Wishing you all the best and cheers to the next FIVE!!

    Melanie
    http://www.bookworm2bookworm.wordpress.com
    Jenny Brown Fan2Author Interview 9/12/2011

  2. scooper September 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Bookworm: Thank you and congratulations yourself. I can’t tell you the number of times when I’ve gotten so in to blogging that I’ve prepared posts ahead of time and was happy with my reviews then flipped to being tired of the time invested in the blog and have written crappy reviews. As much as it’s nerve wracking, I love it and can’t believe how fast the time has flown.

  3. janicu September 12, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Four years here, but reviewed (on paperbackswap) a year before that.. 🙂

    I started because I gave myself a 100 books a year new year resolution and I needed a way to keep track of the stories. I do not have the best memory.

  4. Na S. September 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Congratulations on five years of blogging. That is quite a milestone. I have always been an avid reader but didn’t discover the online book blog community until this summer. It’s wonderful seeing how huge this community is and connected authors are with their readers. Blogs are very informative about books, authors, but also about the publishing industry. Some have been eye-opening to me. I have considered blogging but for now I am content to simply be a reader. GoodReads is a great place to keep track of my reads, post reviews and discover more books.

    I hope you have another great year of blogging!

  5. JL September 12, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Congrats on 5 years! I’m not a blogger, though I’ve considered it. Nerves and time seem to be the problem for me. Also, I write on a laptop for a living, so taking my thoughts and typing them out is pretty daunting. Maybe one day…

  6. Shannon Baas September 12, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I don’t blog as I dont have the time right now. Between work and school, I’m busy.

  7. scooper September 13, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Janicu: That’s great! It is a nice way to track your reading. I’ve fallen in love with GoodReads for that very reason. I don’t review everything I read here, so GR is a wonderful site for me.
    NaS.: Thanks. The book community is awesome. I’ve met some really kind and funny people through the online romance/fantasy community. They are always willing to help one another out in various ways.
    JL: I appreciate it. Believe me, I understand. There was a time when being on the computer made me happy. These days it seems like I’m rarely away from it. The best part, though, is being able to do whatever you want. If you feel like talking about rain…you can do it. Want to complain…you’ve got the perfect forum.
    Shannon: I doubt I’d have ever started blogging had it not been a requirement during my last semester at university. I completely get it.

  8. sabina c edwards (@PANASYNCOLTEN) September 13, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    nope don’t blog, never considered it, most blogs I go see have all these ads on the side bars which I feel uncomfortable with. I do twitter which is good enough for me.
    My daughter does a book blog for her school website but thats totally ad free so it doesn’t look cluttered at all

  9. Tammy Pereira September 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    I’m not a blogger and I haven’t ever considered doing so. I’m not a writer by nature, but I do enjoy reading! Count me in for your giveaway!

  10. MEG September 13, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    I kind of blog. I keep an on-line journal (livejournal) but it’s only readable to my selected friends.

  11. SHELDON CARR September 14, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    love your giveaway.thanks

  12. Breanne September 16, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I’ve had a blog for a year but I’m not really into blogging.

  13. Diane Baum September 16, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    congrats on 5 years-I’ve thought about doing it for a while, but never got it together enough to start.
    Diane Baum
    esldiane@gmail.com

  14. Christine sarkauskas September 16, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    i tried to blog, but never seemed to find enough time to keep up and couldn’t think of things to blog about

    flychild7(at)gmail(dot)com

Comments are closed.

