Phaedra Weldon Interview & Giveaway

14 Sep

The giveaway has ended. Thanks for entering.

I ran into Phaedra Weldon for the first time when she released book one in her Zoe Martinique series. The book was so different from other urban fantasy’s on the market that I had to have it. Fast forward several years and it seemed rather fitting that I’d revisit Weldon as part of my five year blogoversary. She graciously agreed to answer a few questions and has thrown a couple of books into a giveaway just for y’all.

Q. You introduced Zoe Martinique in 2007 when your book Wraith was published. Since then, four more books have been published. How many books will be in the series?

A. When I started the series I saw it as 8 books total. I also saw it as a growing experience for Zoë, going from kinda normal girl to something pretty different. The whole normal thrust into the abnormal story and how she handles it. The first four books dealt mostly with the Abysmal Plane and establishing its good points and bad points. The next four books will concentrate more on the Ethereal plane and their agenda. But as for what happens in each book? Well… I didn’t expect Geist to end the way it did. Each one is an adventure when it comes to Zoë.

Q. What is Caldwell Press and why are you using it?

A. When the Publishing world shifted back in 2009 (when kindles, nooks, epublishing took off) and the midlist started disappearing (well it’s been disappearing for some time now), the Zoë Series got caught in that backlash. Meaning it wasn’t making enough money so it was cut. You’d be surprised how many series got dropped. And good series—several of which I was reading myself. So instead of thinking Revenant was the end of Zoë (because I still get email daily about the books and where’s the next one so someone’s reading them) I took the advice of one of my friends and teachers, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, and decided to carry on the series myself. There were fans out there that enjoyed her universe, so why not continue the series to its end? My contract with Penguin was for 4 books. Those four books were done. The next four books are mine.

Let me say—it’s crazy scary. And I was reeeeally hesitant. But a friend volunteered to help me and together we formed Caldwell Press. I named it after my father who passed away back in 2008 as a tribute to him—he was always for me being a writer and supported that dream. Our first project was Grimoire and with all its flaws it’s a labor of love. Dags is one of my favorite characters and the way his story developed in the Zoë Series it felt it needed to be told from his point of view. It was after I got that book out that I really decided I wanted to finish Zoë. All the way to book eight.

We’re still growing and learning how to make the books the best they can be. From hiring editors or trading services for editing (we’re getting there) and design. And I have a great group of friends who volunteer their time. Geist is out and it’s slowly getting good reviews. I do love it…and it was fun getting back into Zoë again.

Q. If the Zoe Martinique books were to be made into a television series, would you want to have input on the changes made or actors selected?

A. Oh absolutely. But I’m also aware if it were ever optioned that me having any input would be rare and more of a kindness.

But I’m not sure it’d really translate well into a series. It’d be an expensive one with all the going OOB (out of body) she does. And when she shifts to the Wraith. I think right now, the only actors I have in my head for parts is Joe Flanagan for Joe Halloran and Alex O’Laughlin for Daniel. After that… wow… my mind goes blank and I get all dreamy. LOL. Who would play Zoë? She’d have to be good at snark and facial expressions, and a nice mesh between JLo and Morena Baccarin. Dags? I haven’t found him yet. I’ll let you know when I see him though.  🙂

Q. Do you eat while you write? What’s your go-to snack?

A. I sometimes eat when I write. Like when I’m gonna have my butt in the chair longer than I should. I always have water, coffee or tea on the desk (by the menagerie of glasses and mugs). The go to snack? Oh… that’s easy. Meiji Apollo Strawberry Chocolate candy. And if I can’t get those? Pocky sticks. Any kind of pocky. I get them all at Super H-Mart, which is this amazing Asian supermarket near my house. I love both of these things. And they love my hips, lemme tell ya. 

Q. Why should someone read the Zoe Martinique series?

A. I think I’d say they should read the book for a different kind of story. Zoë’s history is mired in her own misinformation, so as she discovers what she was as opposed to what she became, the identity of her father, her destiny and how her touching her friends changes them (as well as being stung by their deceit) then the whole series gives a very deep look into how all of these things change her as a person. I think, and I could be wrong, that the Zoë series blurs the lines between good and evil, what’s right and what’s wrong? Because things aren’t set like that in real life. Right and wrong are a matter of opinion, of dogma and of societal beliefs.

It’s time for a giveaway! Phaedra is giving away a trade sized copy of Revenant and Geist. To enter, simply leave a comment or question. Giveaway open to those with mailing addresses in the U.S. and Canada. A winner will be selected at noon on Sept. 19.

24 Responses to “Phaedra Weldon Interview & Giveaway”

  1. sabina c edwards (@PANASYNCOLTEN) September 14, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    THANKS for the chance to win this, I would love to read it

  2. Starstryder September 14, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    I love your writing and only after finishing Wraith did I figure out it was part of a series. Delighted was me lol 🙂 Thank you for thinking up Zoë and sharing her exploits with us. Can’t wait for the next one!

  3. Na S. September 14, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    I recently discovered the urban fantasy genre from the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. I loved it and ever since have been looking to try new books in the genre. I have some sense of the genre, it features a strong protagonist, typically female from what I come across who are in a role of saving something all set in urban setting. That is just my sense of the genre, but I’m intrigued that the Zoe Martinique series offer something different from other UF. This sounds like a great series to read and I’ll be keeping it in mind. Thank you for the interview.

  4. Desmond September 15, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Count me in, please!

  5. Francisco September 15, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    great giveaway. hoping to win

  6. Jason September 16, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    I am always looking for some new books to read for the upcoming Ice Fishing season! This sounds perfect

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  7. ladyvampire September 18, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I would love to read these. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    LadyVampire2u AT gmail DOT com

  8. Chenoa Auzenne September 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I love see it on facebook!

  9. Morgan September 18, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    This book sounds fantastic! As a avid reader, I would love to get my hands on a copy!

    edgersweeps at yahoo dot com

  10. Diane Baum September 18, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Just heard about this book and I can’t wait to dig in-thanks for the chance

  11. Ed Nemmers September 18, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    This would be for my little sister!

  12. Cynthia September 18, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    I need to start reading books again and I would love to start with this one 😀

  13. Allen Sisson September 18, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    My Wife and I are always looking for new books to read. This sounds interesting
    ajsis at windstream dot net

  14. Jaque R. September 18, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    I have not yet had the pleasure of reading the Zoe Martinique series…but sounds fascinating. 🙂 Thank you.

  15. James Coyne September 18, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    i love the covers of these books

  16. AEKZ2 September 19, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    I’d love to win this prize! By the way, I also love Meiji Apollo Strawberry Chocolate candy.

  17. Sand September 19, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    This sounds like a great book!

  18. Veronica Garrett September 19, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    The books sound very interesting. Thanks for the giveaway.

  19. valerie mabrey September 19, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    thanks for the contest

  20. selena west September 19, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    thank you for the opportunity! sounds like a great read.

  21. DanV September 19, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    These books look great

  22. heather c September 19, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I like pocky sticks, too, but I haven’t ventured to any other store other than the Japanese store at Epcot. I’m guessing those are mildly overpriced. 🙂

  23. Stephanie Barmann September 19, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Great interview! I eat chips at my desk. It’s a bad habit that usually results in a greasy mouse.
    theremustbmore@aol.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scooper Speaks – Phaedra Weldon Interview & Giveaway - September 14, 2011

    […] Please click here to enter this online online sweepstakes […]

Comments are closed.

