Review: Eye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler

17 Sep

Eye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler
Orbit (August 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99; ebook: $7.99
ISBN:  9780316128087

SPOILER Rant!!!!

Favorite Lines: “Jane, you are starting to creep me out. Someone who pees on the local fauna in order to mark his Territory. That says something.” (p. 8 )

Nothing says “home” like being attacked by humans with very large guns, as Jane and Anyan discover when they arrive in Rockabill. These are professionals, brought into kill, and they bring Anyan down before either Jane or the barghest can react. Seeing Anyan fall awakens a terrible power within Jane, and she nearly destroys herself taking out their attackers.

Jane wakes, weeks later, to discover that she’s not the only thing that’s been stirring. Something underneath Rockabill is coming to life: something ancient, something powerful, and something that just might destroy the world.

Jane and her friends must act, striking out on a quest that only Jane can finish. For whatever lurks beneath the Old Sow must be stopped…and Jane’s just the halfling for the job.

Book four in Nicole Peeler’s Jane True series was disappointing. I loved the previous books. Each one continually got better. The end of book three, Tempest’s Legacy, was awesome. I craved Eye of the Tempest. It was everything I expected for about a chapter and a half. Then I met a Jane who worked my nerves. I couldn’t stand her. Especially when she said stuff like “You are the lord of my vagina.” It wasn’t funny. It was annoying.

In this book, Jane was overwhelmed with lust. Almost to the point of it being all she thought about. She wanted to make out with the stove, Anyan and ___________. Every thought was about Anyan’s junk, licking junk, dry humping ____, etc.

I’m also pretty sure I wasn’t supposed to be making out with the woman underneath me.

So, yeah, her need to have an orgasm has her making out with a woman. WTF! If she hadn’t been all about Anyan in previous books I might not have had such an issue with it, but it became ridiculous as the story progressed. That leads me to another issue. What’s up the crazy inner dialogue between Jane’s libido and virtue?

VIRTUE: You’re just going to train with Nell, as usual. Don’t get all crazy.
LIBIDO: I’ll give Anyan  a training!
VIRTUE: You’ll do no such thing. (A)He is undoubtedly the one who will do the training, both inside and outside of the bedroom. (B) This is the time for magical traiing. Not the naughty kind!
LIBIDO: Mmm. Naughty.
VIRTUE: Focus!
LIBIDO: I’ll give Anyan a focus!
VIRTUE: I hate you.

I read a review which explained it perfectly, so I’m not going to try and restate it.

The author’s treatment of Jane’s libido as a minor character (…my libido thought, etc.) is over the top. I doubt there is a single page where it isn’t referred to at least once. To make matters worse, Jane’s “virtue” has now been personified as well. And the two are commencing to argue with one another. I have never met a person or a character who is such a slave to her libido.–Leigh Porch, GoodReads

And that sexual connection between Anyan and Jane? You know the one we’ve all been waiting for? Well, be prepared to wait some more. As Suz pointed out on GoodReads, “Cock blocking as a plot device runs amok in this book.” Every time the sexual tension builds, something or someone interrupts to the point of ME becoming frustrated.  But there is more that bothered me.

There are several info dumps that change everything. The first of which is Jane awakening from a coma to discover her father has been healed. For the past three books we watched Jane worry about her father’s health. Miraculously that is no longer a problem. Jane has also worried about her father learning about the supernatural and her mother’s death. That is all handled off pages, too. Jane’s father tells her what he learned while she was out of it. I could go on, but I’ll leave something for you to discover for yourself when you read the book.

Finally, let me say I’m totally squicked out when I read books about water creatures being wet. Yes sexually. Cause when things heat up, and the hero is all “oooh, I like it when your wet” I think gushing water. Water fountain, hell–waterfall. lol So think that and read this:

“So wet,” he murmured against me. “I love how wet you are.”

Unfortunately, Eye of the Tempest irritated me. I read the entire book, but I didn’t enjoy the trip as I have in the past. There were cameos from major characters (Jane supporters) from past books, but the story focused on Jane and a character from book 3 as they attempted to save humanity. I’m hoping the next book is better, but I won’t run out and buy it. Have you read Eye of the Tempest yet? What did you think about it?

2 Responses to “Review: Eye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler”

  1. Sabrina September 17, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I plan to read the book next week and I just hope that I will like the story more than the cover.

  2. scooper September 17, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Good luck! I didn’t love the cover either, although thinking about it now I should have known who the major players would be. *smacking forehead* Make sure you come back and tell me what you think about it.

Leave a Reply

