Review: Cast in Ruin by Michelle Sagara

26 Sep

Cast in Ruin by Michelle Sagara
Harlequin/LUNA (Sept. 20, 2011)
Trade: $14.95; ebook: $10.99
ISBN: 9780373803309

Favorite Lines: “It was true: hope could be unkind. You opened yourself up to the worst of wounds because you wanted to believe that something good could finally happen. But if you didn’t? You missed this. This intense and perfect moment in which, while the world was almost literally going to hells all around you, hope and reality blended in a single, perfect note.” (p. 394, egalley)

The dark is coming…

Seven corpses are discovered in the streets of a Dragon’s fief. All identical, down to their clothing.

Kaylin Neya is assigned to discover who they were, who killed them—and why. Is the evil lurking at the borders of Elantra preparing to cross over?

At least the investigation delays her meeting with the Dragon Emperor. And as the shadows grow longer
over the fiefs, Kaylin must use every skill she’s ever learned to save the people she’s sworn to protect.
Sword in hand, dragons in the sky, this time there’s no retreat and no surrender.…

Cast in Ruin (Chronicles of Elantra, Book 7) is the book I’ve been waiting for. I’ve loved every book in the series, but Cast in Ruin is right up there with the first two books, which were my favorites. Do not attempt to jump into the series now; there is no way you’ll understand everything that has taken place.

Sagara’s world building is excellent and each book has covered a different aspect of her world. Book seven focuses on giving us information about dragons, fiefs and Kaylin. It answers a ton of questions and whets the appetite for book eight. (There is also a novella which appeared in the Harvest Moon anthology.)

I know some people weren’t thrilled with book six, because they felt like Kaylin wasn’t growing as a character. Well that definitely cannot be said about book seven. We get another glimpse into Kaylin’s past, while she investigates the darkness invading the fiefs and it’s something that was hinted at, but never quite was said. One of the most important things to remember about Sagara’s Chronicles of Elantra Series is that the events of each book are taking place back to back. There aren’t years separating Kaylin’s adventures. There are weeks.

When I received Cast in Ruin I stayed up all night until I finished it. Despite reading the book mid-week I was ready to re-read the book by the weekend. It was that good. The magic, the way the characters stay true to the qualities they were introduced with in book one and the pacing, set Cast in Ruin above other book. It is my absolute favorite fantasy series. I know each book will be well written, thought inducing and a book that I will come back to time and time again. The Chronicles of Elantra is one of the only series I can auto buy and know that I’m getting quality work.

Cast in Ruin has two of my favorite characters, Severn and Nightshade. Of course Severn has more page coverage than Nightshade, but I felt like I was being teased for a book where the  opposite will be true. I can’t wait for that day. Psst…If you want to know what Kaylin feels for Nightshade and Severn, this is the book you need to read.

Heads up! We’re getting closer to the day Kaylin meets the emperor. Sagara said she is contracted to write four more books in the series for LUNA. (OMG, I’m gonna freakin’ crap when I read the final book!) The next book is Cast in Peril; it’ll be released next year.

 

 

One Response to “Review: Cast in Ruin by Michelle Sagara”

  1. janicu September 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    Oh man, sounds so good (right up there with the first two? Eeeee, I LOVED the second book). I need to catch up – I’ve got CAST IN CHAOS waiting for me on ol’ TBR.

Leave a Reply

