Review: The Ruby Kiss by Helen Scott Taylor

14 Nov

The Ruby Kiss by Helen Scott Taylor
Dorchester Publishing (November 15, 2011)
Trade: $14
ISBN: 9781428511774

Favorite Lines: “The creature spat white stuff at her. Ruby dove to the floor and grabbed out from under her bed the baseball bat she’d hoped never to have to use. She jumped up, getting a firm two handed grip on its wooden handle.” (p. 12, egalley)

A POWERFUL NIGHTSTALKER

Nightshade hungers to bring the strong and beautiful to their knees beneath the ecstasy of his bite, but he has never known sexual lust––not until he meets Ruby McDonald, the curvy redhead who wields attitude and strength like an ax, and who would be the perfect mother of his children. Caught in a clash between the Seelie and Unseelie courts, he vows not only her survival but also to win her heart.

A MORTAL WITH A SECRET

Plagued by magic inherited from a father she never knew, Ruby wants answers. Nightshade has them. And when he crashes into her bedroom late one night, the fairy’s silvery eyes, dark intensity, and striking black wings tempt her with a whole lot more: a mysterious world waiting to be explored, a dangerous love that binds her in body, mind, and spirit…and the children she thought she could never have. Ahead looms a choice between freedom and a power some would kill to possess. Should she deny her desires, or succumb to the seduction of…THE RUBY KISS.

The Ruby Kiss is book three in Helen Scott Taylor’s romantic fantasy Magic Knot Fairies series. I own book one, The Magic Knot, but haven’t read it yet. Book two is called The Phoenix Charm, and yeah, it’s sitting on my bookshelf unread, too. As I read The Ruby Kiss it became clear that other stories had taken place, I just hadn’t read them. It did nothing to impact my enjoyment of The Ruby Kiss.

I started off loving this book. I loved the idea of a creature dropping through a skylight onto the heroine’s bed. It was one of the best openings to a paranormalish, fantasy romance book that I’ve read in a while. Too bad it didn’t last. Why? Because the hero was so “other” that I had a hard time connecting with the idea of liking him. Once I suspended my belief and just went with it, he began to grow on me.

Nightshade is a Nightstalker on a mission to destroy his father. It just so happens that the woman he meets has daddy issues too. Nightshade is obviously a paranormal creature. He is a dark black, winged creature who drinks blood. His heroine, Ruby, doesn’t know that she is a descendant of the paranormal when they meet. She acts human as it’s all she’s ever known, but thanks to her mom who has always chased the supernatural is wildly accepting of unexplainable beings.

The problem is that Nightshade thinks like a paranormal creature. He thinks sex equals mating. Ruby thinks sex equals physical satisfaction. Nightshade ponders forever because his body says “this is your mate.” Nightshade reacts like a beast bordering on a childish or immature style to different situations. I had to remind myself that he was NOT human and could not be held to human standards. But anything can be overcome if the hero has a ginormous cock, right?

I like a well-endowed man just as much (if not more) than the average woman. Lately romance books seem to be filled with heroes with 20 inch penises. Okay, that’s an exaggeration, but a nice sized peter is one thing and a monster sized dong is something else. When I read the following, I can’t begin to express the gigglefest that erupted from my mouth.

He flicked open the button on his jeans. Languorous heat flooded Ruby’s body as he lowered the zipper. Hard, sleek muscles rippled with every movement, and when he pushed his jeans down over his hips, every other thought fled her mind. Little flickers of heat raced through her, making her so hot she thought she might melt.

“Strewth,” she whispered. “That’s one for the record books.” Night shade had a tadger the size of a rolling pin. “Ruby, you’re special,” he whispered.–p. 26

Well, she’d have to be special to fit a rolling pin inside her. It takes the sexy out of the story and insert pain. I personally don’t find the two interchangeable. However, Ruby didn’t feel my imaginary pain…

“I might be too big to fit,” he whispered, glancing down in consternation. “I don’t want to hurt you.”

Her eyelids snapped up, and she stared down at where they were so close to joining. Her voice was breathless. “It’ll fit. Just push harder before I die of anticipation.” She was right, and it was wonderful. The slow deep slide as he filled her left her trembling.–p. 210

Too bad I was still fixated on his rolling pin sized schlong and cringing at how loose she must have been to fit the abnormally large pecker belonging to her swain. But enough about the hero’s phallus. What else stands out about the book in addition to Nightshade’s Kielbasa?

The many, über hot alpha males that populate the fantasy world. One after another makes an appearance and piques my curiosity. From the Norse god Troy to the prince of the djinn to the king of the Beasts, the men are intriguing and ooze sex appeal. I wanted a little piece of each of them. The eye candy, paired with the world building, created an excellent base for the story.

Unfortunately, I didn’t like the heroine. Ruby kept getting pushed into life altering positions. Her control over her situation was stripped from her and she never really reacted in a believable fashion. I like a heroine who can roll with the punches, but when roadblock after roadblock pop up to ensure the hero and heroine have a difficult life together, and the heroine is ho-hum about it–there’s a problem.

In the end I just didn’t like The Ruby Kiss the way I expected to. I didn’t hate it, but I don’t see myself re-reading it or seeking out more books in the series. I had high expectations that just weren’t met. It felt like the same situation kept occurring only with different characters. I liked the virgin hero who had a shaft the size of a light pole (for the most part) and many of the other male characters were diverting. The only emotions the characters seemed capable of feeling were jealousy, lust and anger. The most important emotion–love–was missing. I’m told that there was love, but I never really trusted in love which was supposed to bring the hero and heroine together forever.

What others are saying about The Ruby Kiss:

The Book Pushers
Long and Short Reviews
Fangs Wand and Fairy Dust
Sobia on GoodReads

5 Responses to “Review: The Ruby Kiss by Helen Scott Taylor”

  1. janicu November 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Wow. I love this review but I think I will pass on this book. The rolling pin sized thingy isn’t my cup of tea either. Also.. I’ve never heard of “tadger” before.

  2. scooper November 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    It was fun to write Janicu! I had to look up tadger. I hope I remember it for the next super endowed book I read. lol

  3. KB/KT Grant November 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    A tadger rolling pin peen? O.o

  4. scooper November 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Looking at the pictures, can you even imagine? haha

  5. Dead Trees and Silver Screens November 20, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Still thinking about the rolling pin….wtf!

    http://www.deadtreesandsilverscreens.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

