Some Books Don’t Get the Credit They Deserve

8 Dec

I can always find a book to read. Lately those books seem to be part of a series. I miss the days of single, all in one, books. You know the type that avoid cliff hangers and questions that roll over into another book. I don’t want to wait a year to find out what happens. I want the book to begin with a problem and solve that problem by the final page. Since I’m not getting too many books like that I’ve had to come to peace with the idea of most of the books I read being part of a series. This brings up a whole new set of issues.

Why do some books get tons of online publicity and others get little to none? I’m guilty of visiting (almost exclusively) the blogs listed in my blogroll. The problem with that is many of the sites enjoy the same books as I, so we review the same books. Some weeks we all publish reviews of those same books. Usually I read them to see how we agree and disagree about stories, but it also can be sigh inducing. I feel like I’m not exposed to all the series available.

Today, in an effort to combat the tiredness of reading the same blog posts written a different way, I’m going to post a few book series that I feel haven’t gotten the blog time they deserve. Sure we all know about Lora Leigh’s Breeds series. (Many of us auto buy them.) We also know about Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin, Kelly Gay’s Charlie Madigan and Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series. So here are a few series that I enjoy, but haven’t read many reviews of.

The Horngate Witches by Diana Pharaoh Francis

There are two books available for purchase in this series. The third book will be released this month. It’s an urban fantasy series set in a world where the Guardians are taking the earth back from humanity through the use of a magical army. The main players are Max, a woman betrayed by her best friend (a witch) and transformed into a magical Shadowguard, and Alexander, a magical Shadowguard who formerly belonged to a rival witch. It’s dark, complex and highly entertaining.

Ghostland by Jory Strong

This is an urban fantasy romance series set in a post apocalyptic world in which supernatural creatures have exposed themselves. It’s a place brimming with greed and people/creatures who over indulge and take what or whom they want. There is hope though, as each book features two people who find comfort and love in the other’s arms. It’s another dark series, but you know that at the end of each book you are guaranteed a happily ever after. It may not be what you expect, but it’s been consistently good.

Enemy by Marcella Burnard

It’s a science fiction romance series which involves lots of spaceships, insect-like monsters and space exploration. There are different factions fighting and you never really know who is on the right side. Just when you think you’ve got it pinned down, Burnard throws in a loop which takes you away. There is a level of creepiness that I find captivating and betrayals come from the most unexpected of places making this a great series. So far there are two books in it.

My Immortals by Carolyn Jewel

This paranormal romance series is set in the world as we know it, however there are demons and other paranormal beings co-inhabiting the planet. Demons are turned into slaves to mages, but they are ready to fight back. As different couples pair up, secrets are revealed and the battle for equality ramps up another level. The books are steamy, usually filled with vivid battle scenes and always end with a happy couple.

3 Responses to “Some Books Don’t Get the Credit They Deserve”

  1. booktopiareviews December 8, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    I agree completely about the series thing. What ever happened to JUST ONE BOOK? oh well. on to waiting for the next installments…

  2. Sabrina December 8, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I love stand alone books and wish there were more of them.

    The Enemy series might be a bit too dark for me but the Ghostland series sounds great, need to take a closer look at book #1.

  3. scooper December 10, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Booktopia: I know, right!!! I need to find one on my shelf so I can believe one and done books exist. Wait, that’s after I finish reading book two in Maya Banks Scottish Highlander series. lol

    Sabrina: I can live with series set in the same world, but what’s up with all the series that stop mid story line and pick up in book two, a year later, with the same character. The enemy series is dark, but I was shocked at how much I enjoyed it. The Ghostland series is dark in another way.

Leave a Reply

