Review: Vamped Up by Kristin Miller

12 Dec

Vamped Up by Kristin Miller
Avon Impulse (Dec. 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99; ebook: $3.99
ISBN: 9780062105219

Favorite Lines: “She touched two fingers to the marks and swiped off some of the dried blood circling them. It didn’t hurt at all. In fact, the scarlet spot that looked like the entry point for his fangs kind of…well, it kind of tingled. In a warm and fuzzy sort of way. As twisted as it sounded, Eve knew, given the opportunity, she would’ve allowed him to make a matching mark on the other leg. In a heartbeat.” (p. 25, egalley)

Pre-order the mass market book and you’ll save quite a bit of money. B&N has it on sale for $4.88, but it doesn’t ship until Dec. 27. If you want it now you can buy it in ebook format.

There should be nothing to fear; Eve’s safe. But I can’t go back. Not when my nightmares have resurfaced—the ones in which the only person I’ve ever loved is ravaged by a vampire bite.

If she only knew how close I am to losing control . . .

It doesn’t matter that I promised Eve, and myself, I wouldn’t sink my fangs into her perfect, unblemished skin. I know that one day my bloodlust will overcome my love and my promise. The only thing I don’t know is how much longer I can fight the truth of my dreams: I will taste her . . . and when I do, I’ll drain her dry.

Vamped Up is book two in Kristin Miller’s Crimson Bay series focused on vampires and their battle for survival. The first book, Intervamption, introduced the idea of vampires who survive on synthetic blood. They were slowly dying until the heroine of Vamped Out, donated her blood and became their savior. Vamped Up picks up a few weeks after the events of book one and follows Eve and her hero Ruan.

The story is told from the third person POV. The “seeing eye” follows Eve and Ruan, as well as secondary characters like Dante, Dylan and Savage to give a thorough look at the plot from various directions. Flashbacks are used to enlighten characters (and readers), and foreshadowing is shown in Ruan’s dreams.

I wouldn’t recommend readers pick Vamped Up up for their first look into the Crimson Bay world, though. Too much is introduced in book one that without it–readers will be at a loss.

I never felt like it was over-the-top “Wow” worthy, but Vamped Up is a nice addition to the paranormal romance genre. It is filled with action, sex and mystery. Most importantly, it makes me want to know more about secondary characters living happily. I want answers to questions surrounding the people introduced in the book. I want more. And according to Miller’s website, I’ll get more. Miller is currently working on book three in the Crimson Bay series which is titled Vamp Appeal.

Other opinions on Vamped Out:
Lisa Sanchez
Book’d Out
The Jeep Diva
Red Hot Books

Leave a Reply

