Review: Shadow Heir by Richelle Mead

28 Dec

Shadow Heir by Richelle Mead
Kensington (Dec. 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99; ebook: $6.99
ISBN: 9781420111804

Favorite Line: “Whatever decisions I made, however, would be because I chose them.” (p. 390, ARC)

Shaman-for-hire Eugenie Markham strives to keep the mortal realm safe from trespassing entities. But as the Thorn Land’s prophecy-haunted queen, there’s no refuge for her and her soon-to-be-born-children when a mysterious blight begins to devastate the Otherworld.

Book four in Richelle Mead’s Dark Swan series is supposedly the final installment, but it leaves room for so much more. The events of books one through three are finally ready to unfold and Eugenie has some major decisions to make.

While dealing with her major life issues, namely her babies and trying to stay alive, Eugenie is confronted with a blight that is threatening the land of the fae. The entire story is a personal journey. Sure Eugenie has to protect her people, but she also has to protect her children and grow as a ruler and mother.

Dorian has plenty of page play in Shadow Heir. I loved every minute of it. In addition to Dorian are other secondary characters who just might surprise you. Heck when some of the facts come out I think y’all will be just as shocked as I was. Oh yeah, if you wanted to know more about Volusion your wish has been granted.

I thoroughly enjoyed most of the story…until I got to the end. I’ll admit that Eugenie stayed true to character. She showed the character that I hated in book three. You know the character who made me swear to not read book four because she made silly decisions that weren’t fair to those around her. It took a year, but I overcame my anger from book three and devoured Shadow HeirWarning!!! Don’t expect a clean ending to the story. Expect an ending which will most likely anger you with its spin to the worst traditional romance plot line ever. Despite its ending, I did like most of the story.

Do yourself a favor and cave like I did. Pick up Shadow Heir and conclude the series you started in Storm Born. Most of the plot lines are explored and closed. It’s no where near the story I fell in love with in book two, Thorn Queen, but it is IMMENSELY better than book three. After you’ve read Shadow Heir come back and let me know what you think.

One Response to “Review: Shadow Heir by Richelle Mead”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shadow Heir by Richelle Mead | Literary Escapism - March 15, 2012

    […] reads this *G*.  Read Order: Storm Born Thorn Queen Iron Crowned Shadow HeirAlso reviewed by: Scooper Speaks, Books & Barks, Wicked Little Pixie, Belle Books, Book Savvy Babe Leave your […]

Leave a Reply

