Review: Wicked Circle by Linda Robertson

6 Jan

Wicked Circle by Linda Robertson
Pocket (Dec. 2011)
Mass Market: $7.99; ebook: $7.99
ISBN:  9781451646955

Favorite Line: “He had held me all the way here, and ushered me quickly to my rooms so I could shower and change–two things I’d been eager to do.” (p. 411)

Is a little time alone with the man you love too much to ask?Well, it may be—when you’re Persephone Alcmedi, Lustrata of the witches, and your lover is Domn Lup of the wærewolves. For once, however, the disturbance is not Seph’s foster daughter, Beverly, her wacky grandmother, or her newly rediscovered mother. This time, it’s the ancient and incredibly sexy vampire Menessos, bearing bad news: because the vampire council fears he is plotting a power grab, Menessos is being hunted by a trio of truth-seeking vampire sisters so dangerous they are usually kept locked in stone.

His dreams imperiled, Menessos needs Seph more than ever . . . and she needs him. Now, Seph has magical promises to fulfill for the wæres, multiple mundane family challenges to meet, vampire politics to confront . . . and into the bargain she’s balancing two sexy supernatural males. It’s enough to drive any woman insane, especially when you throw in a dragon and—even worse—a government investigator. As danger threatens, Seph isn’t sure she can stay alive for the rest of the day . . . let alone long enough to accomplish all that needs to be done.

Things are definitely changing in Seph, Johnny and Menessos’ lives. By the final page turn of the book I wondered where the author was taking the story. Everything had changed and it felt like little was resolved. Thoughts, emotions and lifestyles were all thrown for a loop. I want to know though, so I’ll be sticking it out.

Wicked Circle is not a standalone book. It’s book five in Linda Robertson’s Persephone Alcmedi series. It is also a vital book in the series which felt a lot like filler. I wonder how the prophesy about the triumvirate is going to work out after the events of this book. Hmmm?

If you don’t know I’m here to tell you that Wicked Circle is an urban fantasy told from Seph’s first person POV. At times it jumps into the third person to follow other key players. I was slightly confused at one point when another secondary character’s POV was thrown into the mix. I don’t think it was too important, but it led credibility to a plot twist.

What I really think: The story was good and the pacing kept everything moving. My problem is that despite the constant movement and action it felt a lot like a person running on a treadmill. You know moving, but not actually getting anywhere. I liked most of the twists. I was shocked by many of the mental thoughts. I was sucked back into a series that doesn’t really get talked about much. In the end, I’ve got a feeling that in order to understand the events in the next book, readers will need to have read and retained the events in Wicked Circle.

Leave a Reply

