Scooper, you’re lame!

3 May

If you visit here regularly or even semi-regularly I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’ve been slipping. I haven’t been posting as often as I normally do. Occasionally, I get tired of writing and simply read. Sometimes it’s because I’m overwhelmed with life and other times it’s because I get a little depressed.

Lately, I’ve had a lot on my plate. My oldest child’s half-sisters are supposedly coming to live with us and I’m really anxious. I’m anxious about them remaining placed in my home and worried that their mother will change her mind and not send them. Their father is deceased, so I’ve no biological claim to them other than the fact that I’ve cared for them twice in the past and my child is their sister. I’ve also been looking for a full-time traditional job outside of my home.

You may remember that a couple of years ago I quit my job at a local newspaper and became a freelance writer. This worked until Google changed it’s algorithm and many companies stopped buying online content as often as they had in the past. Now, I’m barely squeaking by and the stress is piling up.

To top it all off, my sister (who has MS) has decided to get physical therapy and I’m taking her to her appointments. At the same time, my aunt had cataract surgery on both eyes and guess who was roped into taking her. I don’t mind doing it, but it stresses me out even more cause I worry that if I get a job I’ll be leaving them in a bad position.

I’ve been pretty lame when it comes to maintaining my online obligations and I’m hoping to change that this month. The plan is to jump back into reviewing with both feet and not let everyday life experiences prevent me from having fun with y’all.  I’m sorry for dumping all this on y’all and plan to do better. (Yes, this is pretty much the same speech I give once a year, but this time is slightly more stress filled than the norm.)

6 Responses to “Scooper, you’re lame!”

  1. Chinyere Ezinwanyi May 6, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    You are NOT Lame. You are an angel. All your sacrifice will be rewarded. Hang in there.
    But keep reading, it is an escape that you need.
    More kids in your house means more clothes to wash, toys to pick up, but more laughter!

  2. scooper May 6, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    I may not know you in person Chinyere, but I know the person I’ve met online and I’m so thankful to have met you. You always have something encouraging to say and usually it’s just when I need it most. Thank you. I’m trying to be positive, some moments are harder than others. 🙂

  3. Chinyere Ezinwanyi May 6, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I wish I could give you a hug. You have such a big heart. It makes me sad when such kind people like you struggle this hard. I Hope you get a great job that will give you great benefits for you and growing family. You have a big heart, so don’t worry, when I win the mega millions, I won’t forget you.

  4. scooper May 6, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    Chinyere: Thanks. I promise not to sue you if you hit it big and forget about me. lol Seriously, I appreciate your kind words very much. 🙂

  5. bookdaze May 7, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    It sounds as though you’ve a lot on – hang in there. I’ll keep my fingers crossed it works out for you!

    Li

  6. scooper May 7, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    Thanks Li. I’m hopeful things will mellow out cause I feel like I’m on a roller coaster going really high before falling really low.

Leave a Reply

